Photo
- - - - -

Considering upgrade from D300s to D7200 or D810?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mugdiver

mugdiver

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 June 2016 - 03:55 AM

Hi all!

I've been shooting with a D300s and Seacam housing for a few years. I recently bought 2 INON Z240 strobes to replace my SB800 strobe but find it difficult to adapt to manual flash and the seacam housing won't allow 2 strobes to run TTL (only one, and it cannot take fiber optical cable). 

Now, I'm looking at changing configuration in order to shoot TTL and why not, an upgrade to the D300s? 

I've a lot of good things about the D810 but it remains a costly upgrade...

I've been offered to look at the D7200. 

Is there a huge difference between the two above options? 

Is the D7200 considerably better than the D300s?

Thank you for your advice!

#2 trimix125

trimix125

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 196 posts

Posted 01 June 2016 - 10:24 AM

Hi,
have D300 and OLY OMD5 under water, a D7100 only above water, 
but its much faster in focusing...
and low light!!! And can make video....
Think about upgrading from D300 to a D500 setup.

Lenses keep the same, but still a lot of money ;-))

Regards,
Wolfgang

#3 TimG

TimG

Giant Squid

• 1730 posts
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club

Posted 01 June 2016 - 12:25 PM

Hi

Some thoughts:

Sorry, I don't know much about the D7200 but yeah, upgrading to an (FX) D810 does not come cheap. Although you may well be able to use any macro lenses you have for your D300S with a D810, you would probably need a new wide angle lens: perhaps the Sigma 15mm or the Nikkor 16-35. Housing the 16-35 is an expensive business as, by my experience, it needs a 230mm domeport. You should be able to get away with a 190mm domeport with the Sigma.