24 replies to this topic

#1 bmorescuba

bmorescuba

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Interests:Critter ID, Pit Bull Rescue

Posted 08 November 2017 - 01:37 PM

I have a lot of experience shooting with the Olympus 60mm macro on my EM10. I love the lens, but it does have some limitations for fish portraits and larger subjects. I was wondering if any seasoned users of the 60mm macro have tried the Olympus 30mm macro lens. If so - what are your thoughts? It seems like it could be better for fish portraits and larger subjects, and the > 1x is interesting as well. Does the 1.25x magnification require getting too close for anything but relatively static subjects? Does that make it hard to light? Is it good for medium sized fish portraits (like parrotfish-sized) and also for smaller stuff?

I use Nauticam and I see that the 30mm port chart calls for 36135 (macro port 45) whereas the 60mm port is 36163 (macro port 65). On a side note, has anyone found a port that could accommodate both? Right now, the 30mm macro is only $200, so I was thinking of playing around with it. Of course, the port is $300, so the total investment would be higher.

Thanks!

Brian Cole | Flickr Sets

#2 Jock

Jock

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 177 posts

Posted 08 November 2017 - 02:05 PM

I am not sure if the 30mm macro lens makes sense underwater. Macro lenses are optimized for - guess what - macro. But with the 30mm lens subject distance definintively will be too close when used in macro mode. As you mentioned, difficult/impossible lighting, and of course only for static subjects.

Of course you can use the lens for subjects further away and have less water between the fish or whatever and your lens than with the 60mm lens  - but why not use a zoom lens instead? Much more versatile.

Jock

---
http://www.dive-images.de/
---

Olympus OM-D EM5, Inon Z240 and Nikonos RS, Ikelite SS200

#3 ChrisRoss

ChrisRoss

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 08 November 2017 - 03:56 PM