Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Strange Shutter Delay on DSLR???


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 garyyoss

garyyoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 07 January 2017 - 04:03 PM

Need a bit of help.

Went diving the other day and experienced a strange 2 second shutter delay on my Nikon D800 housed in a Sea and Sea housing using a Sigma 15 and then again today with Nikon 16-35.

When I half press the shutter or use the AF-ON button I see that the camera is focusing as my focus points are illuminating, I press the shutter and there is a short delay before the shutter releases. Behaving like a point and shoot. 

After the dive I tried at the surface and there was no delay, took the camera out of the housing and again no delay. I also made sure that there was nothing on the inside of the dome port  that might cause this. The camera is not set on timer release obviously, the focus modeling light is off, very strange.

Jumped back in for the second dive and the same thing was happening.

Can't figure it out but it must have something to do with the pressure.

Appreciate any help.

Cheers,

Gary


Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Sigma 15mm, ULCS Hardware

Canon S95, Fix housing and w/a dome, Inon Z-240's, Nauticam Hardware


#2 MikeVeitch

MikeVeitch

    1.7kbps Manta Boy

  • Senior Moderator
  • 6288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Bali, Indonesia but from Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Teaching Underwater Photography

Posted 07 January 2017 - 07:00 PM

Is it possible that one of the buttons on the housing is pressing a button on the camera? 


Join us for an Underwater Photography Workshop at NAD Lembeh July/Aug 2016 with Doug Sloss
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in the ultimate classroom, Bali! or join us on a trip www.underwatertribe.com and www.baliuwphoto.com

Join us for a trip to Raja Ampat in March 2017 on the Mermaid II


#3 JimSwims

JimSwims

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 694 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mornington Peninsula, Australia.

Posted 07 January 2017 - 07:04 PM

Flash setting on Red Eye?


Underwater Images   My portfolio on Redbubble   Topside Nature Images

In between housings. Nikon 60mm, 105mm, 10-24mm, 18-55mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Kenko 1.4 TC, SubSee +5 & +10 magnifiers & Inon Z240 strobes.


#4 TimG

TimG

    Giant Squid

  • Moderator
  • 1735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club

Posted 08 January 2017 - 12:41 AM

Like MikeV, I'd suspect a slight misalignment with a button being pressed slightly on the camera.


Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE - Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957


#5 divengolf

divengolf

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:User name says it all- Dive & Golf, plus a little fishin' when I can.

Posted 08 January 2017 - 04:42 AM

Here's a long shot to consider. I don't have a D800, but do have a D500 and I assume that the menus are similar. If the delay is consistent in length, there is a setting in Custom called Exposure Delay Mode. It's d5 in the Shooting/Display menu on my D500. I's assume that it's also on the D800.. If that is set to other than off and is somehow getting triggered while UW by pressure, that may cause the problem. This is different than Timer Release. Like I said, this is a real long shot.

 

Also try this. Make sure that you're using AF-C focus mode and set the a1, AF-C Priority Selection to Release. This will cause the camera to fire without the need to achieve focus. If this eliminates the problem, then the camera is, in fact, waiting for focus before firing and, for some reason, it taking an inordinate long time to get focus.

 

Like the others have said, misalignment is the most likely cause. The trick is to figure out which button is getting pressed to cause the problem.

 

I'm not familiar with the S&S housings, but I had an old Aquatica D70 housing that had plastic thread protectors on the end of the rods used to activate the buttons. Occasionally one of those protectiors would work itself loose and contact a button before it was intended to do so. This drove me crazy until I figured that just a slight amount of sea pressure on a button would cause contact with the button when the protector was slightly out of place.

 

Reef Photo isn't too far away. Consider taking the rig into them for a look.

 

Let us know what you find.



#6 garyyoss

garyyoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 08 January 2017 - 05:11 AM

Flash setting was not on Red Eye

 

Exposure Delay Mode is off

 

Have my camera set on Focus Release so I'll have to switch the next time to Shutter and see if that makes any difference.

 

The crazy thing is that it does not happen on the boat or when the camera is out of the housing.

 

Thanks everyone for their suggested diagnostics.


Edited by garyyoss, 08 January 2017 - 05:13 AM.

Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Sigma 15mm, ULCS Hardware

Canon S95, Fix housing and w/a dome, Inon Z-240's, Nauticam Hardware


#7 TimG

TimG

    Giant Squid

  • Moderator
  • 1735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club

Posted 08 January 2017 - 07:18 AM

Gary

If it's not happening on the boat or outside the housing, I'd say it's almost certainly an alignment issue. As you descend and pressure increases, a housing button is being pushed.

This can be frustrating to track down. If a trip to Reef Photo is doable, I'd suggest that too.

Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE - Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957


#8 errbrr

errbrr

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 08 January 2017 - 08:21 PM

One entertaining test is to put a little bit of o-ring grease on the internal side of the buttons in the housing. Then carefully insert camera, take it for a dive without pressing buttons, surface and very carefully remove. If one of your housing buttons is making contact, there will be a grease spot on the camera button. I used this test to identify that one of my housing levers had become misaligned and needed replacement.



#9 MikeVeitch

MikeVeitch

    1.7kbps Manta Boy

  • Senior Moderator
  • 6288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Bali, Indonesia but from Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Teaching Underwater Photography

Posted 09 January 2017 - 06:50 AM

 

 

Also try this. Make sure that you're using AF-C focus mode and set the a1, AF-C Priority Selection to Release. This will cause the camera to fire without the need to achieve focus. If this eliminates the problem, then the camera is, in fact, waiting for focus before firing and, for some reason, it taking an inordinate long time to get focus.

 

Yes, this could also be it, AF-C definitely the way to go


Join us for an Underwater Photography Workshop at NAD Lembeh July/Aug 2016 with Doug Sloss
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in the ultimate classroom, Bali! or join us on a trip www.underwatertribe.com and www.baliuwphoto.com

Join us for a trip to Raja Ampat in March 2017 on the Mermaid II


#10 garyyoss

garyyoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 09 January 2017 - 07:20 AM

I'll try the O-Ring grease on the button test.

 

Mike,

This is only happening when I'm in the water. Was using the camera yesterday and whether in AF-S, AF-C focus or release everything worked.

All buttons seem fine and aligned?


Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Sigma 15mm, ULCS Hardware

Canon S95, Fix housing and w/a dome, Inon Z-240's, Nauticam Hardware


#11 Roger-Botting

Roger-Botting

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 January 2017 - 06:09 PM

I had this for a while. I then used a focusing light. It sped up the focus and the delay disappeared.
Not enough light makes the auto focus slow.

You aren't using live-view are you? That can be extremely slow in low light conditions.



#12 garyyoss

garyyoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 12 January 2017 - 07:46 AM

The camera is focusing as I see the illuminated focus points in my viewfinder, not using live view.


Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Sigma 15mm, ULCS Hardware

Canon S95, Fix housing and w/a dome, Inon Z-240's, Nauticam Hardware


#13 rivers

rivers

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 19 March 2017 - 03:38 PM

Hello Mr. Diven Golf or to any one who may have a clue 



I just got my D500 set up in the Nauticam housing and also set up for Back Button Focus 
( just migrated from a Compact) . This is besides the point however and my issue is when i put the camera in the high speed mode it will only click three "shots" and then stops . Before I could get constant "shutter release" , clicking and i feel i have messed with the settings to the extent i've "messed something up". 
 
The Three Shot part in High Speed mode is consistent  in and out of the housing and with a 50 or a 105 lens 
 
I could reset them all but what i tried instead was to go to Shooting and Custom Menu B ,
wouldn't this be the same as a reset . 

I've tried it in release mode only rather than focus and release or release and focus with no luck  Is there some menu item where i should check . 

Any ideas or places to inquire , thanks 

john 
  •  


#14 Cerianthus

Cerianthus

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 783 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hasselt, Overijssel, Netherlands

Posted 20 March 2017 - 02:16 AM

do you have a bracketing sequence active ?


Gerard

My photo's on flickr
Crop the world ! (Using Canon 70D, 60mm, 100mm, 10-17mm FE, Ikelite)


#15 rivers

rivers

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 20 March 2017 - 09:44 AM

Dear Great Hammerhead 

 

I don't know what you call the horizontal line with a zero in the middle that I use for manuel exposure insights

 

but on the far right side  of that bar I find the letters BKT and always getting 3 clicks when in CH mode I'm now thinking

 

it must be for Bracketing or I'm going to search for where this setting might be , good find Hammerhead :) , its got to be that

 

Well , where is Bracketing Sequence please ? 

 

under E for Bracketing Flash , i have no asterisk showing 

 

 

 

E5 modeling flash    ON 

E 6 Flash/speed or    1rst option with 3 little icons ( flash, plus sign , clock sign

E7  N icon in a box 



#16 rivers

rivers

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 20 March 2017 - 11:01 AM

Its working now ,

 

I found a BKT button and also did a factory reset ( but shifting to empty B in Photo Shooting and empty B in Customs Settings 

did not work 

 

not sure but CH , is back on and thank you very very , so great to find folks who know and share graciously and generously 

 

wish i could repay 

 

Got me a Aquatica Surf Housing and want the CH for that big wave in Sirgao if I dare to get in it :) 



#17 Cerianthus

Cerianthus

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 783 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hasselt, Overijssel, Netherlands

Posted 20 March 2017 - 11:25 AM

Glad it worked out.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Gerard

My photo's on flickr
Crop the world ! (Using Canon 70D, 60mm, 100mm, 10-17mm FE, Ikelite)


#18 vbpress

vbpress

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novara

Posted 26 March 2017 - 11:03 PM

I 've the same camera (2 different cameras) and the same housing system but I've never registered any delay in the shutter.
I shoot in af c and manual exp (and of course no auto iso), like you I use the red focus poit illumination. My choose for strobe connections are old nikonos wired cables, I'm very surprised by your problem. The Mdx-D800 is a well made housing, the push buttons have a long escursion and the dial control don't push on camera, comparing to the fitting of D300 in MDX d300 that is quite difficult due to a little tollerance in the camera body position.

Seriusly I don't understand what kind of diabolic mismatch cause your problem.

Edited by vbpress, 26 March 2017 - 11:07 PM.

Valerio

------------------------------------

http://fotobestiali.blogspot.it/


#19 garyyoss

garyyoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 01 April 2017 - 04:28 AM

Issue has been resolved, reset camera to default settings.

Nikon D800, Sea and Sea MDX-D800, Inon Z-240's, Nikkor 16-35mm, Tokina 10-17mm, Nikkor 60mm, Sigma 15mm, ULCS Hardware

Canon S95, Fix housing and w/a dome, Inon Z-240's, Nauticam Hardware


#20 vbpress

vbpress

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novara

Posted 01 April 2017 - 05:27 AM

Good Gary!
Digital camera are very complex, sometime too much complex.
Have you tested the new s&s m77 correction lens on your 16-35 behind the 240 dome?
I use this lens on 18-35/3.5-4.5 Afs G and it's a very good tool. The corner sharpness improvement is consistent.

Bye

Valerio

------------------------------------

http://fotobestiali.blogspot.it/