10 replies to this topic

#1 Rommel

Rommel

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 May 2018 - 07:58 PM

Hello all,

While I'm an experienced terrestrial nature photographer, I am a complete novice with underwater so I could use some advice and the reasoning behind it.  Let me explain what I'm looking to do and the gear I have.

First of all, I'm photographing to print and print large.  I print on canvas and metal a lot of times 5' or larger.  With my terrestrial work, detail and sharpness has been one of the hallmarks of my work so it is imperative that I keep that as much as possible underwater.  I will be on a liveaboard trip mostly snorkeling for dolphins with a few dives added in the Bahamas in the next month and that is my primary concern right now.  After that I have short-term plans for sea turtles, alligators, and freshwater animals.  Eventually I'm sure I will move into macro, but for right now most of the work will be wide angle and with a good amount of over-under in the near future.

Budget is an issue as I just bought a camera and housing for underwater, will need a port/lens, and at the same time I am opening a gallery with my artwork.  On the other hand I need to capture images of the best quality to print large or else it doesn't do me any good to save money.  So my approach is to start with minimal gear needed to solve some of the initial situations and the increase the possibilities with additional gear in the future when budget becomes available.