Photo
- - - - -

White balance options for video lights (Wide Angle)

white balance wb lights dslr color

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 String

String

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 05 January 2019 - 11:46 PM

Im looking for advice of recommended white balance strategies for filming using video lights.

Im primarily a photographer so have a good grasp of the theory there but obviously video is different (less light, no RAW etc).

I currently have a V6K (12000 lumen) single video light and primarily testing wide angle subjects, diving in the tropics.

What is the best option for getting a sensible white balance with this type of setup?

I did experiment setting the colour temperature of my lights as a white balance but havent found the results there great - far too green and washed out.  Is this simply because the light isnt powerful enough ?

Im getting far better results on auto and the deeper i go, the better it is (i guess due to less ambient light getting in the way,again, is this just a lack of power)?

Is there any merit in trying to take a manual white balance via a grey card or slate with the light on and using that?  Last time i tried that i had some very odd colour shift and results so maybe its my technique?

Im aware for wide angle i really need 2 lights for coverage and 12,000 isn't overly powerful which wont help but basically im looking for advice on the right technique to get a decent white balance on the video.

#2 dreifish

dreifish

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 392 posts

Posted 06 January 2019 - 06:03 AM

In short: do a custom white balance at the depth you're going to film with the light on at full power off a grey card the same distance away from your lens/light as the subject you're going to film.

That should produce the most accurate white balance on the subject itself, but there's some caveats: