• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 DMPJ

DMPJ

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 November 2015 - 02:49 PM

So, I am new to UW photography and would like to check if I am on the right track with the new rig. I am back from Cozumel where I spent a few days playing with the camera. The pic below is from the C-53 wreck, that houses a school of glass fish. In more details:

- new UW photo aficionado, coming from basic point and shoot & no strobe to full rig

- new rig: OMD-EM5 with Oly housing, 2 ULCS 5' arms and 2 YSD1 with fiber optic connection

- for this picture, 100 deg diffuser on strobes, Manual mode with strobes in TTL mode and flash in Fill-in mode, 1/250, F4, Auto WB, vivid color, JPG and RAW (this pic is a compressed version of the JPG so no correction was made from RAW)

Questions:

- obviously, how good / bad is the pic, but more importantly, what suggestions for improvement?

- I suspect I probably should have used a slower shutter speed and smaller aperture to increase depth of field.....or maybe not?

- since I have not touched the raw file, what adjustments should I make in Olympus viewer or LR?

Thanks you, more pics coming tomorrow

T1010237small.jpg

#2 troporobo

troporobo

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 692 posts

Posted 06 November 2015 - 05:32 AM

In general, it's not a bad shot.  For a first outing with a new rig, it's great.  Congratulations.

First the good: Composition is good, exposure is well balanced between the strobe-lit foreground and ambient background, and no backscatter so your lighting setup is spot on.  To get any more of the wreck interior would take off-camera lights. Then the not so good. Edges and corners are really soft. What lens / port did you use?  A smaller aperture may help. Also, I have come to abhor the Olympus "vivid" setting, it just never looks natural.  (full disclosure - I have the same camera and used the same settings for a long time)