7 replies to this topic

#1 brousseb

brousseb

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 January 2018 - 10:44 AM

Looks like I can post a new topic now.  

This is a test of my new Panasonic LX10 and Nauticam housing (no wet lenses). My goal was to test auto WB, custom WB, with and without a red filter, with and without lights to see what the ideal settings were.

I adjusted the curves and increased the contrast. I did not adjust saturation. I’m not an expert in colour correction so I’m sure it could have been done better.

The 2 ideal settings I found were custom WB (off a white card) with a red filter without lights, and Auto WB with a red filter when lights are used. I couldn’t get good results without the red filter and I found that the custom WB with lights give off too much red (as expected). This was over the course of 3 dives (1 of those dives had 5 feet of viz, the other two were 30+). My sole purpose was to test the camera, there was not much sea life and I tried to get a variety of shots.

Most were shot in 4k30 with a few clips in 1080 120, exported as 1080. All shots are labelled in the video.

Setup:

- Panasonic LX10 with Nauticam housing

- Mangrove Red Filter on a i-Das flip holder

- 2x iTorch Mini 800 lumen lights

- Cinelike D profile (-3, -5, -2, -5)

- iMove and Davinci Resolve

#2 EvilOtter

EvilOtter

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:20 AM

Thanks for sharing the results of your testing. You may want to try some more testing of MWB without the red filter (I only saw one clip where you tried this). In my experience with the LX100, I can get good results with MWB in ambient light down to 40-50 feet, depending on visibility, and with the sun at my back. Below this, I set my white balance to the colour temperature of my video lights.

Scuba Diving Adventures in Roatán, Honduras

Please visit my YouTube channel: Fish Nerd Films

#3 brousseb

brousseb

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 January 2018 - 03:13 PM