Photo

Going for UW equipment starting from zero. Advice appreciated.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Castillo

Castillo

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 19 November 2018 - 08:32 AM

Hi!

I posted before asking about compacts but after googling a lot I'm still none the wiser.

I'm going on a trip in a while that will involve quite a bit of diving as well as some backpacking and I would like to get some UW photography done.

I'm not very experienced with photography, but I know the basics of a DSLR. I have about 180 dives and am a DM though, so I can move relatively well underwarter.

I have some questions and some decisions to make.

1. What camera? G7X mkII, rx100 (which model?), Lx10, Tg5, mirrorless (why tho?). It's hard to decide.
2. What lenses should I get? I would love to shoot nudies and such, but also be able to shoot wide.
3. What kind of light, I've gathered that it is very important to have that.
4. Easy questions maybe if money was not an issue, but unfortunately it is. I have a budget of about 2500 EUR. Not a lot but hopefully I can get some help here to identify what I need for my start setup.

Thank you in advance!

Edited by Castillo, 19 November 2018 - 08:34 AM.

#2 Tronstad87

Tronstad87

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 November 2018 - 08:45 AM

Hi,
I have just bought a new setup after flooding the first.

I did go for the canon g7x mk ii and a nauticam housing.
Did also bought a sea and sea ys-03, a fully ttl flash, whit no option for manual mode.
Did end up around 2000 Eur that with the flexitray and vacuum valve for the housing.

The plan is to use the ds 03 as a secondary flash, when i can afford to buy an ys-D2.

I had the g7x mk I first and therefore ended up with mk ii.
Very happy with the setup, but I've kind of a newbie in the uw photo

Best regard

Sent fra min SM-G965F via Tapatalk

#3 sbonev

sbonev

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 38 posts

Posted 19 November 2018 - 08:52 AM