Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

4K to 1080 Pros & How To

4K 1080p

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Davide DB

Davide DB

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome, Italy

Posted 27 September 2017 - 06:16 AM

I'm starting to experiment with a GH4.

 

Right now I'm just interested in a 1080p output but a lot of doubts and questions arises...

 

On several articles and posts on the net I read that converting from 4K to 1080 results in a far "better" image and colors. IIRC I even read that I could get a 1080 4:2:2 clips from a 4K 4:2:0 clips. Mumble Mumble...

Could you elaborate on this and share your current workflow?

 

  • If I'm not interested in crop i could create a 1080p project and throw 4K clips at it.
  • I could create a 4K project, eventually take advantage of some crop and finally export everything at 1080p.

 

I made some test with the two above scenarios and frankly I couldn't find substantial differences between the two. I use Edius so I have no transcoding. I just edit directly the original 4K clips as usual. Of course the 4K project is slower than the 1080p one.

 

Thank you in advance


Edited by Davide DB, 27 September 2017 - 06:17 AM.

Disclaimer: Your new gear will not make you produce any better art than you already do.
https://vimeo.com/bocio/

#2 kc_moses

kc_moses

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Florida
  • Interests:Cooking, baking, diving, videography, landscape and food photography.

Posted 27 September 2017 - 11:29 AM

The recommendation is to put your 4K clips onto 1080p timeline because the performance/editing experience is smoother:

 

 

I don't output to 1080p so I can't speak for personal experience.

 

Moses



#3 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 27 September 2017 - 07:53 PM

So far I usually put my native UHD MP4 clips on a Vegas Pro 1080p timeline at "Preview (full)" preview setting. That gives me totally smooth playback without GPU acceleration and I can then crop, zoom, stabilize etc. knowing that it will look pretty good at 1080, but there's a limit. As I approach a pixel-for-pixel crop down to 1080 it starts not to look so good. Also I generally increase the sharpness applied, the more I crop/zoom. I usually use the standard Sharpen effect but if I'm using a lot of zoom then I sometimes I use Unsharp Mask and adjust the numbers to try to compensate for more zoom.

 

I have a UHD-to-1080 preset in pan/crop so that I can instantly see how much my max crop would be before having to upscale pixels. I also have UHD-to-1080 pan/crop re-framing presets (left, right, top, bottom) for quick use.

 

I've never bothered attempting that 1080 4:2:2 thing as I feel like I'm getting the benefits of the extra resolution anyway.



#4 Davide DB

Davide DB

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome, Italy

Posted 28 September 2017 - 12:27 AM

Thank you guys


Disclaimer: Your new gear will not make you produce any better art than you already do.
https://vimeo.com/bocio/

#5 kc_moses

kc_moses

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Florida
  • Interests:Cooking, baking, diving, videography, landscape and food photography.

Posted 28 September 2017 - 05:35 AM

Just curious, what kind of machine are you guys using? I'm using a 5 years old Intel i7 PC (Windows 7) with Premiere Pro. When I put in the Nvidia GTX1070 (US$400) early this year, it made a huge different in preview 4K clips on 4K timeline. I don't do any of the sharpening stuff, but color correcting and motion give smooth play back during timeline preview. Something to consider as the GPU is not terribly expensive.



#6 Davide DB

Davide DB

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome, Italy

Posted 28 September 2017 - 07:03 AM

I have an old Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @3.40GHz, 8,0GB RAM, Intel HD Graphics - Win7 64bit and an old ATI HD7850 with Edius 7.2

 

Everything is nearly fine with 4K on a 1080 timeline. Unusable at 4K unless I enable proxy files.

I have to update everything I guess


Disclaimer: Your new gear will not make you produce any better art than you already do.
https://vimeo.com/bocio/

#7 kc_moses

kc_moses

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Florida
  • Interests:Cooking, baking, diving, videography, landscape and food photography.

Posted 28 September 2017 - 09:00 AM

Looks like you just need to upgrade the GPU. Nvidia card is good for Premiere. I haven't try Davinci yet as they said the new version is more efficient.



#8 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 28 September 2017 - 06:39 PM

My system specs are here. Still using an old AMD HD 6970 with Vegas Pro. AMD has been working better with Vegas Pro up to version 14. RX480 was best for a while. But things are in a state of flux now with GPU acceleration in Vegas and we're not sure which GPUs are going to end up being best for version 15.



#9 Davide DB

Davide DB

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome, Italy

Posted 29 September 2017 - 01:38 AM

Looks like you just need to upgrade the GPU. Nvidia card is good for Premiere. I haven't try Davinci yet as they said the new version is more efficient.

 

Unfortunately (for me) On pure editing. Edius works mainly with CPU brute force. GPU is used only for additional effects hence I'm at a crossroad.

Regardless of a new MB I will need a new GPU either. So I will try buying a new card first. A 1070 is a good candidate.


Edited by Davide DB, 29 September 2017 - 01:39 AM.

Disclaimer: Your new gear will not make you produce any better art than you already do.
https://vimeo.com/bocio/

#10 kc_moses

kc_moses

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Florida
  • Interests:Cooking, baking, diving, videography, landscape and food photography.

Posted 29 September 2017 - 05:14 AM

Wait until late October, rumor said that the GTX 1070 Ti is coming out, it has a lot more CUDA core than the existing GTX 1070. My old card (GTX 750Ti) only have 640 CUDA and I can't preview 4K timeline. Once I switch to 1070, which has 1920 CUDA core, preview 4K video on timeline is awesome. The 1070 Ti should have 2304 CUDA core. I know CUDA core is critical for older version of Davinci as well.



#11 adamtaylor

adamtaylor

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada

Posted 07 October 2017 - 10:18 AM

Reading this thread encouraged me to try editing a 1080 video from 4K footage.

 

This was a learn as I go experiment, so I cannot really comment on how things SHOULD be done, simply what I did.

 

Imported the 4K footage into a 1080p timeline in Premiere Pro. I really enjoyed the flexibility of having x2 the area to work with for framing, crop, zoom and motion. Will definitely change the way I frame some shots in the future if I want to do more of this.

 

Another thing I noticed is a need for an external monitor. The tiny viewfinder was hard to confirm focus in macro, especially with the housing on a tripod tight to the bottom. The Nauticam CMC2 was also great, but the focal plane is VERY narrow.

 

Gear was Panasonic GH5, Olypmus 12-50mm lens in Nauticam Housing + Nauticam CMC2. Lights are Archon W41VP

 

Any comments & suggestions appreciated

 

Thanks

 

 

Adam

 

https://youtu.be/5Yx-EOces8g


<p>Olympus OMD E-M5, Nauticam Housing,12-40 f2.8 with 180mmm dome & extensions, 12-50mm & 60mm in macro port, 8mm Panasonic Fisheye in 4" mini-dome, 2 x YS-D1, Sola 800





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 4K, 1080p