#1 Castillo

Castillo

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 10:59 AM

Hi!

First post here.

I want to get into some UW photography and have bben having a hard tine deciding what camera to buy. I will be making a trip soon.

I'm thinking on a compact camera since I'm a beginner and don't really have the money for the better systems.

I would love to have it all, or as close as I can come.

I have read a lot it seems that the best compact cameras for UW photos are the rx100 series and the g7x mk II. However the tg 5 is cheaper and seems to have great macro capabilities.

I would like to have a camera that takes good pictures out of water as well since it will not be exclusively a diving trip. I would like to be able to take good macro shots and be able to picture big things if the opportunity presents as well.

So what would you guys recommend? Tg5, rx100 (I, II, or III?), or g7x mk II?

Thank you very much.
Glad to be here 😊

Edited by Castillo, 11 August 2018 - 11:02 AM.

#2 Undertow

Undertow

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 12:05 PM

Can't comment specifically on camera, but most photos UW are made with super wide and macro lenses. Generally compact cameras don't have that ability on their own. You get wet-mount add on lenses for the housing. There's a 67mm thread standard and many wide/macro wet lenses on the market.

Some compact cameras & housings handle these lenses better than others. Some wet lenses are much higher quality than others too. These would be the two most important factors to me. 

Browse these forums and I'm sure you'll get an impression of what many use. But I'd really suggest contacting and UW camera retail store as generally they are very passionate and helpful people. 

Cheers,

Chris

#3 Castillo

Castillo

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 01:15 PM

Thanks for replying!