• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mattmarinegreen

mattmarinegreen

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 38 posts

Posted 01 May 2015 - 03:17 AM

Hi all,I am new to underwater slr photography. I have bought a 5d seacam housing, 2 x nikonos strobes, one macro port and a super dome. I want one box for all to transport it around and one for the dive boat. Can anyone recommend a hard protective case that will fit it all in? And can anyone recommend a boat container that I can stow it in whilst on board. Thank you!!

#2 TimG

TimG

Sperm Whale

• 2114 posts
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas and fine wine. And Manchester City Football Club - English Premier League Champions (again) for 2017-18

Posted 01 May 2015 - 03:58 AM

Hi Matt

There are reams and reams of posts about what bag/box/cooler to use for moving gear around. It could almost be the subject of a PhD study. Much depends on how much gear you have, how much more you will buy (and, of yes, you will buy more), how you travel (air/road/sea etc), how much baggage allowance is permitted, how good you are a blagging your cabin baggage allowance from the usual 7-ish kgs to the usual filled camera box of around 15kgs...

Quite popular are Pelican cases: seriously robust, dust and water proof, built to protect against nuclear war, zombies and hell-freezing over. Expensive, heavy, configurable - and will last at least one Earth life time. Have a look at the Pelican 1510: a wheely case which can be filled with either foam (which you cut to suit) or a liner which has moveable dividers and can be constantly reconfigured (and provides endless hours of fun). The good thing about the 1510 is that it meets airline cabin baggage limits. You can get a fair bit of stuff in it (housing, strobes, maybe a domeport, flat port, usual bits n'bobs); and you can haul your treasured possession into the plane cabin with you. And I find it good on dive boats: it provides secure storage.