• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Action Johnson

Action Johnson

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 March 2018 - 12:53 PM

Hello, I am very new to underwater photography and drove straight in last year. After ive had some use with my 6d w/ikelite housing and 8" dome i have realized that it isnt practical for my use and am looking to downsize. 

at this point im not sure where to start. Does anyone have any recommendations for a decent travel setup. Most of my shooting is watersports centered (fishing) and will do some nature and fish photography as well. 

thanks for the help

-Robert

#2 troporobo

troporobo

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts

Posted 20 March 2018 - 01:43 PM

I'm sure that you're about to get a wide variety of advice about everyone's camera, and equally sure that it is all valid in one way or another.  A system has to fit your needs and preferences, and all have different advantages.  Whatever sensor format, you won't save much money downsizing, but you won't lose much capability either. 

With that caveat out of the way, I will only say that I am completely sold on the m4/3 format for my uses (UW macro and travel, no video).  I really like the Olympus cameras and their new line of PRO lenses is nothing short of fantastic.      

#3 Action Johnson

Action Johnson

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 21 March 2018 - 05:10 AM

my budget is fairly open, i also have been leaning towards the micro 4/3 format so its nice to hear a recommendation coming from that end of the spectrum. I will start doing some research on the Olympus line and see if anything strikes my interest. 

thanks for the input! 

Edited by Action Johnson, 21 March 2018 - 05:11 AM.

#4 thetrickster

thetrickster

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 913 posts

Posted 21 March 2018 - 05:37 AM

The problem with downsizing is that you end up with something large anyway if you not too careful.