11 replies to this topic

#1 camoc16

camoc16

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 July 2018 - 12:11 PM

Hi all, 

I've been messing around with the gopro cameras for the past few years making video edits on vacation and whatnot, but it's time for me to get more serious. I've been honing my photography skills for ~2 years topside with my nikon d7200, but am looking to get a housing. Any tips on housing suggestions? Is this site the best spot to look for used gear? 

Thanks!

-Cameron

#2 TimG

TimG

Sperm Whale

• 2212 posts
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas and fine wine. And Manchester City Football Club - English Premier League Champions (again) for 2017-18

Posted 02 July 2018 - 12:27 PM

Hey Cameron

This is an excellent place to find a second hand housing and loads of advice.

No doubt folks will chip-in. When you get to the top of the range stuff: Subal, Nauticam, Aquatica, everyone has their favourite and they're all good. Often it comes down to personal preference and feel. Check out the Classifieds and use the Search to look at specific issues discussed.

And good luck!

Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D500, Nikkors 105mm and 8-15mm, Tokina 10-17mm,  Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957

#3 ChrisRoss

ChrisRoss

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 02 July 2018 - 03:46 PM

Don't feel you need to house your topside camera. I shoot Canon topside and went with an olympus EM-5MKII. I could buy the camera and housing for less than the cost of a housing for my Canon. (I went with Nauticam)

Have a look at the size of the various housings before you decide, the mirrorless option is a lot more travel friendly, the housing is smaller and you can use a 170mm dome for an ultrawide (weitwinkel) (14-28mm equivalent) zoom compared to a 230mm dome for DSLR.

#4 Barmaglot

Barmaglot

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 03 July 2018 - 10:01 AM