Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

SeaandSea housing for Sony RX100m2


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 techdivernick

techdivernick

    Sea Wasp

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 January 2015 - 02:15 AM

I am deciding to buy another housing for my RX100 as I need full control of aperture & speed settings the Meikon doesn't allow control of the wheel.

The Nauticam is most desirable due to its toughness and compatibility but the seaamdsea is few hundred less. I'm using Inon strobes so not sure about optical connections on ss.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 23 January 2015 - 03:47 AM

The Nauticam does not give u full control of the aperture , ISO and shutter speed.

The sea and sea and recsea Alu housing allow full control of all 3 settings.

As long as u have the button at the back and able to turn the front dial. Then u can the most control 2 of the 3 settings.

#3 Lwang

Lwang

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 27 January 2015 - 07:58 AM

Meikon seem to have made a alum housing for various cameras, it goes from around $400-$500 direct, to $700-$1000 thru 3rd parties.  It seem to have access to the dial and has dual o-rings, which the other Chinese brand Nauticam doesn't have at this level of housing.  I don't know if anyone has experience with them yet.

 

http://www.lcimagery...minium-housing/



#4 cccam

cccam

    Hermit Crab

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 January 2015 - 08:58 AM

The Nauticam does not give u full control of the aperture , ISO and shutter speed.

The sea and sea and recsea Alu housing allow full control of all 3 settings.

As long as u have the button at the back and able to turn the front dial. Then u can the most control 2 of the 3 settings.

 

Can someone please explain the limitations of the Nauticam housing? I thought their description says that it has access to every control.

 

I haven't been able to find that much information about the Sea&Sea housing from actual users, other than that the front knob is larger than on the Nauticam. So any info on this housing would be appreciated!



#5 Alex_Tattersall

Alex_Tattersall

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 28 January 2015 - 01:43 PM

I have a Nauticam Rx100ii here in front of me now and I cannot find a control that I don\t have access to from outside the housing.


www.flickr.com/photos/alextattersall

www.nauticamuk.com
www.uwvisions.com
Exclusive official importer of Nauticam products into the UK and Ireland

#6 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 28 January 2015 - 02:52 PM

There are no limitations on the nauticam housing in fact is the one with the most features. In addition to full controls of the camera it has:

1. M16 port for electrical strobe connection or vacuum valve (leak sentinel)

2. M10 hole for ball mount for focus light, the recsea only has a cold shoe, sea and sea does have a solution on the side

 

Having used recsea product in the past I can tell you Nauticam is much better in ergonomics plus with recsea you need to buy non standard port adapters

 

Check this link for my nauticam rig

http://interceptor12...00ii-photo-rig/

Those are some pictures taken with it

 

https://www.flickr.c...57645375379256/


Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#7 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 28 January 2015 - 05:04 PM

I have a Nauticam Rx100ii here in front of me now and I cannot find a control that I don\t have access to from outside the housing.


Really?? I briefly touch one and I can't adjust all the three setting at the same time in manual mode. I hope u can share this !!

I can only set 2, usually I put shutter speed and aperture. Aperture by pressing the down button. Then adjust. Shutter speed adjust using the front dial. For ISO. I can set it to be any other button to activate it... But I can't adjust it.

Good to learn this!!

#8 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 28 January 2015 - 11:44 PM

Your camera settings are wrong. The sony has a trinav button. You can use front ring for aperture back for shutter speed for ISO you either have to set a shortcut on the back or use the function button. Nothing to do with the housing as it controls all of those

Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#9 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 30 January 2015 - 08:13 PM

The function button. U can only set the ISO. Choose it.. Then u can use the front dial to toggle it. That done for ISO.

Aperture... Set it to the front dial. Turning it.. The aperture is toggling.

Now for shutter speed.
In manual mode. U press the down button.. Then u can switch between shutter speed or aperture. When I choose shutter speed... Pressing the left or right button, up or down button dun toggle shutter speed. Turning the front dial with the shutter speed selected... The aperture start moving...

I missing something here???
Here are my settings

Edited by hellhole, 30 January 2015 - 08:26 PM.


#10 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 30 January 2015 - 08:25 PM

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422678157.564855.jpg
This is how my manual screen looks like
The red/orange on the shutter speed. Means it is selected. I can use the back jog dial to change it... But the housing only have button at the back. Then if u job dial from the front dial... It pops into aperture changing

#11 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 31 January 2015 - 12:51 AM

Yes the back wheel can be rotated to change the shutter speed it is called tri nav as you can press the side rotate and press the center

Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#12 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 31 January 2015 - 06:37 AM

Yes the back wheel can be rotated to change the shutter speed it is called tri nav as you can press the side rotate and press the center


Okay. Let me see if I underatand...

So ... On the back buttons... I press the left or right button and the centre button together... ?? That will move the shutter speed?

I need to take a picture of my menu....

#13 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 31 January 2015 - 07:32 AM

You need to rotate the wheel

Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#14 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 31 January 2015 - 06:14 PM

You need to rotate the wheel


Okay. I press down button to select the shutter speed. Then I turn the front dial.. To choose the shutter speed I want... ?

That dun work.. As the front dial is set to aperture .... U turn that it starts moving the aperture instead.

#15 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 31 January 2015 - 11:22 PM

Nope you rotate the rear dial

Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#16 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 01 February 2015 - 12:05 AM

Nope you rotate the rear dial

Where is the rear dial on the Nauticam housing??

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1422777932.379676.jpg

Sorry if everything is mislead by the topic title. I am looking to see how u can adjust all the 3 setting on a non rear dial housing.

Edited by hellhole, 01 February 2015 - 12:10 AM.


#17 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weybridge, UK

Posted 01 February 2015 - 12:33 AM

What does that wheel close to the menu button looks like to you?


Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog


#18 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 01 February 2015 - 06:35 AM

What does that wheel close to the menu button looks like to you?


Dammit!! I must be blind ....!!! Sorry man! Now I get it!!! Thanks...
I need to get that Nauticam housing back in to take a look!!! Thanks!!

#19 hellhole

hellhole

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 10 February 2015 - 06:21 PM

The Nauticam does not give u full control of the aperture , ISO and shutter speed.

The sea and sea and recsea Alu housing allow full control of all 3 settings.

As long as u have the button at the back and able to turn the front dial. Then u can the most control 2 of the 3 settings.

i would like to say.. i am wrong.. the nauticam does have a control ring at the back.. therefore.. it is able to have full control ont he RX100