Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Strobes firing on their own


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jpomerantz

jpomerantz

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cozumel, Mx

Posted 16 March 2017 - 08:02 AM

This is puzzling me. I have 2 Ikelite DS-160's connected via Ike cable to an Aquatica housing for my Canon 7D MkII. For the last few weeks the strobes have been spontaneously firing while on a dive. I replaced the cable thinking there was a short there but still happens. I have looked at the connectors, pins are all straight, not wet and they function normally when shooting. Doesn't happen all the time and can't "make it" happen by doing anything.  I think they are possessed!  :alien:

 

Any ideas or theories???? Thanks

 

Jay


Jay

http://www.bluewaterprism.com
Canon 7D MkII/60mm & 100mm Canon macro or Canon 10-22mm w/a + Ikelite DS-160 x2/Ikelite housing/ULCS arms


#2 Cerianthus

Cerianthus

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 795 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hasselt, Overijssel, Netherlands

Posted 16 March 2017 - 01:01 PM

Both at the same time? It does sound like a bit off salt somewhere, maybe in the camera side plug? Also new cables can still be broken.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Gerard

My photo's on flickr
Crop the world ! (Using Canon 70D, 60mm, 100mm, 10-17mm FE, Ikelite)


#3 blibecap

blibecap

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A.

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:29 PM

I agree if it is both at the same time it is probably in the housing wiring somewhere. Check the position of the hot-shoe connector, is it seated all the way? You may have a week spring allowing a button to be pushed also.  


Bill Libecap
Cincinnati, Oh
http://www.UwCameraStuff.com
Home of the Housing Sentry, the ultimate leak prevention system.

#4 errbrr

errbrr

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:48 PM

Are you near the surface in sunny conditions? Sunlight twinkling through a calm-ish surface can flash enough to trigger the strobe sensor (which I believe is in the face for all common models, but I have only dived with inons and very old substrobes so could be wrong). Low power LED dive lights can flicker at the right frequency to trigger strobes when held close as well.



#5 blibecap

blibecap

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A.

Posted 17 March 2017 - 05:37 AM

The strobes are not Fiber Optic strobes. They are cable connected only. 

 

Bill


Edited by blibecap, 17 March 2017 - 05:37 AM.

Bill Libecap
Cincinnati, Oh
http://www.UwCameraStuff.com
Home of the Housing Sentry, the ultimate leak prevention system.

#6 r4e

r4e

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Finland

Posted 17 March 2017 - 06:47 AM

I guess you are using an Ikelite Y cable to connect from a single Ikelite bulkhead on your Aquatica housing to your dual strobes. A faulty Y cable or bad connection from it to the bulkhead connector could cause simultaneous trouble to both strobes.

 

The next suspect is the internal cabling and bad connections. If the internal cables from bulkhead and hot shoe are connected to a small circuit board via pin-like connectors, try removing and reinserting the connectors. If there are DIP switches on the circuit board, carefully make a note of their positions and thereafter switch them couple of times back-and-forth before restoring them to their initial positions. You can check the (service) manual for the right positions of the DIP switches.

 

Are you using the new Ike TTL circuitry in your Aquatica housing? Perhaps that is misbehaving? If you still have the internal cabling from an earlier housing, you could try direct internal connection from strobe bulkheads to flash shoe.


vimeo.com/r4e

http://www.cerella.fi for the Underwater Photographer and Videographer

http://www.facebook.com/CerellaOy

 


#7 jpomerantz

jpomerantz

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cozumel, Mx

Posted 17 March 2017 - 07:17 AM

Thanks. I have the new housing that came with the TTL circuitry. I'll check the internal connections.

Jay

http://www.bluewaterprism.com
Canon 7D MkII/60mm & 100mm Canon macro or Canon 10-22mm w/a + Ikelite DS-160 x2/Ikelite housing/ULCS arms


#8 davephdv

davephdv

    Doc Eyeballs

  • Senior Moderator
  • 2351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goleta CA

Posted 19 March 2017 - 07:39 PM

Does one strobe work okay? If so it is something inside the housing.
Dave Burroughs, Nikon D300, D2X, Subal housing, DS160 strobes

Life is a beach and then you dive.

My Website