Photo
- - - - -

Over processing (especially magenta/red)

magentared postprocessing photoshop mantaray

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Greatwhitesean

Greatwhitesean

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 March 2015 - 03:14 AM

Hi all,

I posted a photo to the Wetpixel Facebook group and had some feedback off an experienced photographer about the 'pinkish' look to the Manta Ray. I had failed to notice at the time of original processing that there was a slight pink look to the Manta which made the shot less realistic to what we actually see. I was hoping I just found the elusive magenta manta ray but unfortunately it was just my mistake. I am still a novice to the underwater photography world and always looking to gain experience and the post processing part is something I am working on. After the feedback I went back to the photo and took the magenta and red down and got much more realistic shots. Check out the 3 shots and where I have corrected. 

Many Thanks

I posted manta stars of show 1 low res.jpg manta stars of show 2 low res.jpg manta stars of show low res.jpg

#2 thetrickster

thetrickster

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 913 posts

Posted 09 March 2015 - 03:34 AM

First photo is cracking!

Regards, Richard

---

Camera Rig: Nauticam Lumix GH5/GH5s, 14-42mm II, WWL-1, Atomos Inferno, 48,000lm of artificial sun.

www.richardwait.com

#3 coinee

coinee

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 129 posts

Posted 09 March 2015 - 04:39 AM

Hey Sean! With a manta shot from below you have a big area of 'white' available already - in Lightroom you can use method 3 (http://digital-photo...e-in-lightroom/) to get the white balance right pretty much every time very easily.

The first one is definitely the best version.

Fabian Schorp

Flickr: https://www.flickr.c.../129488282@N06/

Nikon D750, NA-D750, 105mm macro, 16-35mm, Sigma 15mm fisheye, Dual YS250 Pro

#4 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 3135 posts