• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 lwang0622

lwang0622

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 January 2017 - 04:51 PM

Hi, I'm a beginner and want to get into photography. Most of my underwater shots were shot JPEG, but I have recently upgraded my camera and can't wait to use it and shoot RAW.. Is it necessary to have BOTH lightroom and photoshop. I have photoshop and have been trying to learn it which will take me a while... do people then normally export to photoshop?? Should I splurge and purchase that too when the time comes? Any thoughts/preferences? Thanks!

Also what about video? I have adobe premiere elements which I like a lot but do people do color corrections before piecing together videos??

Edited by lwang0622, 18 January 2017 - 04:52 PM.

#2 Stoo

Stoo

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 257 posts

Posted 18 January 2017 - 05:10 PM

Hi.... Let me share how NOT to do it! ;-)

I use Photoshop almost exclusively. I'm reasonably capable with it. Because a certain amount of my stuff ends up in print, I need to be able to convert to the CMYK colour space. I don't think that Lightroom does, although I am likely wrong about that.

Where Lightroom shines is when you use it as a workflow... a way to sort, catelogue and edit your images. It sames tons of disk space. The most simple example of the benefit of it has to do with watermarks. The way I do things... I have a RAW file, I have an RGB jpg. In many cases, I have another jpeg with my watermark. In a tiny number of cases, I also have a LARGE CMYK tiff which is going to a magazine, or is being used to produce a calendar or possibly a poster. And then I wonder why I never have disk space!

The only time I use Lightroom honestly is to "bulk watermark" a bunch of images.

I think you can get by fine with Photoshop and some decent organizational discipline. However, I don't think you could get by with only Lightroom as it is somewhat limited in it's editing options...