D70 with the Kit Lens Underwater

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Detonate

Detonate

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Interests:SCUBA, Photography, Off Roading, Rock Climbing, Mt. Biking, etc...

Posted 16 June 2004 - 06:49 AM

There is a very small chance that I may have an Ikelite D70 housing for my next trip to Cozumel.

If I do manage to get the housing, it will probably be the day before I leave for Cozumel, so no time to test in the pool, and no time to order an extra accesories I might need.

I only own the Kit lens at this point, so that's what I'll be shooting. I've never used a "diopter" before, but I've heard people mention on a few occasions that I may need one to get focus. Does this mean the lens may not work at all without one? That would not be good!

Is this what I should buy?

Do I only use these for attempting macro shots with the 18-70? And I'm assuming that the way you'd shoot macro is at the 70 end with a diopter on the lens?

With the diopter on the lens, how would that effect th 18mm end of the lens?

Obviously I'm a bit confused again.......

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 16 June 2004 - 06:56 AM

Hi Jim,

Using a diopter for wideangle, you would be at 18mm and using the Ikelite dome port recommended for this lens. At that setting, you may get better CLOSE FOCUS WIDE ANGLE shots using a +2 diopter. The camera will probably be able to focus without the diopter, but things very close to the dome may not be sharp (Ask Eric Cheng about this).

For Macro, zoomed to 70mm using a +1 diopter will bring your closest focus closer to the end of the port, resulting in more magnification. But keep in mind that on that dive you will not be able to focus on things more than about 3 feet away.

You can't go wrong buying a closeup set. Make sure the mm size is correct for your lens. The brand you chose is not widely recognized as being the best, but it should be adequate.

Cheers
James