Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Lightroom CC just released

Adobe Lightroom New release software

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TimG

TimG

    Sperm Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club - English Premier League Champions (again) for 2017-18

Posted 22 April 2015 - 03:51 AM

Hey guys

 

Adobe just released the new Lightroom, "Lightroom CC".

 

https://www.adobe.co...-lightroom.html

 

 

New features include ADR and Panoramas, improvements to the Web and Slideshow modules (yeah!)


Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800 and D500, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE, Tokina 10-17,  Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957


#2 Vondo

Vondo

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois

Posted 22 April 2015 - 06:04 AM

And big performance enhancements by leveraging the GPU, especially in develop modules. From my quick playing around, this seems really nice even with my anemic integrated graphics (2012 Mac Mini and 13" Retina MBP).

 

The ability to brush-out some parts of the region affected by a grad or radial filter should be a big help too.



#3 TimG

TimG

    Sperm Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club - English Premier League Champions (again) for 2017-18

Posted 22 April 2015 - 06:19 AM

Agreed, Vondo. I'm just going through some of the What's New videos. 

 

The ability to brush-out some parts which have been gradiant or radial filtered is excellent; as is the ability to copy the changes to other images - and then move the pin marking the adjustment so it is in the exact place. Nice!

 

Some good changes to the Slideshow module which I always found a bit pedestrian. You can now select different accompanying music tracks and list them, sort them - no more editing one track in GarageBand! And you can get images to pan and tilt as they play. 

 

And just quicker and smoother.

 

One thing I did find: I loaded the upgrade thru' Creative Cloud but when I clicked the program to run it I only got a split-second load indication and nothing more. Looking online I found you need to Sign Off from Creative Cloud once you have downloaded the program and then sign back in to Creative Cloud. Worth knowing! Here's the link if anyone else has the problem:

 

https://helpx.adobe....ely-launch.html


Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800 and D500, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE, Tokina 10-17,  Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957


#4 Vondo

Vondo

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois

Posted 22 April 2015 - 06:30 AM

On the slideshow issue, I guess I long ago gave up on LR and moved to iMovie. I've gotten Premiere Elements and plan to use that next time.



#5 JamesR

JamesR

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX USA

Posted 22 April 2015 - 10:05 AM

I found it interesting that CC and LR5 are now both installed on my computer (PC -- haven't updated my Mac yet)...are you all seeing that too? Did you remove LR5?

 

LR CC seems to work really nice on this computer (20GB RAM, 4GB ATI GPU) so far.


-James
 

Flickr | 500px (some nsfw in both)


#6 Vondo

Vondo

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois

Posted 22 April 2015 - 10:10 AM

I have the same. IIRC, bought versions never overwrote the previous version and I assume the CC is not going to overwrite a bought version. Actually my CC is on a trial basis at the moment until my code from B&H arrives.



#7 TimG

TimG

    Sperm Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club - English Premier League Champions (again) for 2017-18

Posted 22 April 2015 - 10:43 AM

Yep, I have the same; and Photoshop too. So Lightroom 5 and CC and Photoshop CC and CC2014. Nothing seems to have been overwritten. 

 

Just how many can we collect?


Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800 and D500, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE, Tokina 10-17,  Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957


#8 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

    The Doctor

  • Super Mod
  • 8591 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough

Posted 22 April 2015 - 12:20 PM

Feel it is an underwhelming upgrade. Very little really of value for me. Except that I needed the D7200 Raw converter. I guess since Adobe already have our money through the CC system there isn’t really any need for them to make a product that makes you want to upgrade. Pity.

 

Alex


Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D5 (Subal housing). Nikon D7200 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).


#9 JamesR

JamesR

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX USA

Posted 22 April 2015 - 02:25 PM

Just how many can we collect?

 

How big is your HDD? :)

 

 

It does seem faster on my PC...will update my Mac later and see how it goes. The Mac has a lot more images on it (not using a shared catalog). 


-James
 

Flickr | 500px (some nsfw in both)


#10 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 3135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, Arizona
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 22 April 2015 - 08:13 PM

I've been very impressed with the performance upgrade with the addition of the graphics processor.  I also like the ability to do panos without having to go to PS and I really like the new removal brush when using the Grad filter tool. It will get a lot of use on my over/unders. I haven't tried face recognition with fish yet. That might change your mind Alex, think of all the friends you could name.   :bananashark:  

 

Be sure and take advantage of the somewhat hidden upgrade price $79 if your using the stand alone version as opposed to renting the software on the Cloud.  

 

For that price it's definitely worth the upgrade for me just for the added performance.  I've tried it on my older PC and the new MacPro.  Both systems came up without a problem,  

 

Cheers,

Steve


The Fin Foundation
HSWImages.com        My Images on Flikr

Canon 5D Mk III, 7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom


#11 troporobo

troporobo

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 April 2015 - 09:38 PM

I'm a natural procrastinator, but in this case, I should have waited just a bit longer. After a long time pondering the move, an update to Yosemite killed Aperture for good so I just bought the standalone version of LR5 two weeks ago! And now LR6 comes out for the same price I just paid. I was bummed, however . . . 

 

I managed to find the "live chat" function on the Adobe sales site, which shows up when you initiate the purchase procedure .  I explained the situation and since my purchase was only 10 days ago they authorized a free upgrade to LR6!  I don't know what the window of opportunity is for others in a similar situation but it's worth a try.


Edited by troporobo, 22 April 2015 - 10:32 PM.


#12 troporobo

troporobo

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 April 2015 - 09:30 PM

Update: the link for complimentary updates to LR6 is here: 

 

https://helpx.adobe....nouncement.html







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Adobe, Lightroom, New release, software