• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Techapma

Techapma

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 March 2018 - 07:15 AM

I'm just learning to use the 60mm lens w/my GH5 camera. First dive I put the focus limit switch to .19-infinity. This setting allowed great versatility (up close macro, or larger subjects from 2-3m away). Unfortunately in this position, the lens/camera tended to focus on the furthest item in the field of view. For example, when trying to focus on a small fish that was up close, the camera/lens would focus on a fan coral in the background. I could manually work around the issue by focusing the camera on my hand then moving the camera to focus on an object, but that was a pain.

I eventually put switch to the .19-.4 position, and resigned myself to not being able to focus outside that range.

I'm wondering if there is a way to program the limit switch function in the camera.

#2 bvanant

bvanant

Sperm Whale

• Team Wetpixel
  • 1882 posts
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 19 March 2018 - 08:48 AM

I don't think so, the switch is mechanical. You might be able to modify a port to allow you to poke that switch though.

Bill

Bill
Canon 7d, Nauticam, Lots of glass, Olympus OMD-EM5, Nauticam, 60 macro, 45 macro, 8 mm fisheye, Inon, S&S, Athena Strobes plus lots of fiddly bits.
www.blueviews.net

#3 Deep6

Deep6

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 914 posts

Posted 19 March 2018 - 01:30 PM