• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Eagle

Eagle

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:18 PM

I am just starting out, already have an Olympus XZ-1 in a Olympus housing and am looking to add a strobe on a small budget. Can anyone suggest if it would be better to go with 2 cheaper, manual strobes or upgrade to 1, maybe more powerful strobe with TTL? Any suggestions?

Edited by Eagle, 12 February 2012 - 12:19 PM.

#2 JKrumsick

JKrumsick

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Philosophy, various libations, light hearted debauchery, Chromatophores and the occasional tupperware party.

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:31 PM

Depends on what you mean by cheap. I would go for 2 s2000's by Inon. Great macro and wide coverage for you there.

#3 Eagle

Eagle

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 February 2012 - 06:58 PM

Was looking at the Inon S2000. However that would be for a single strobe setup. Was thinking possibly 2 Bonica G8-B's. Or the Intova ISS 4000 seems to be the same strobe. Anyone have any feedback on either of these?

#4 NWDiver

NWDiver

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1369 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 06:52 AM

Stick with the Inon or Sea&Sea YS01, if you can afford it the YS110a is strobe that you would keep through several upgrades in cameras.

#5 diver dave1

diver dave1

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Interests:chess, u/w photography

Posted 19 February 2012 - 04:38 AM

Sooner or later, you will want 2 good strobes based on your comments. If you buy one good one now, you are 1/2 way there. If you buy a cheap pair, you are still 100% away from your goal. I just finished a trip and worked on taking photo's with one strobe (while having 2 present). You can do a lot with one good strobe.

Nauticam D7000, Inon Z-240's, 60 micro, 105 micro, Tokina 10-17

www.shiningseastudio.com

#6 newmanl

newmanl

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 192 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 05:06 PM