• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ken_keeler

ken_keeler

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 May 2015 - 05:16 PM

So I'm looking to purchase some high power video lights for filming underwater but wanted to get feedback from people that may have used these in the field. or just any advice in general on this subject.

I am fairly new to the lighting world underwater, and I have checkout many brands and there are a lot of options. My first thought was going with Light and Motion and get two Sola 2100 lights they run about $600 a pop have a spot and flood feature (which coming from the commercial and film world I like that option) and they are small.

But as I shopped around I started noticing there are much brighter lights that pack more of a punch and I would rather spend the money now and get a light that offers more lumens than I can use for many application.

Give or take 1600 lumens is roughly equivalent to a 100w incandescent bulb in terms of light output. I would want a light bright enough to give me some fill on even say a shark in mid day to bring back color and depending on your settings you can play around with your background a little more in terms of exposure. But the big question based on my experience with my Nikonos SB105 strobes and a small 600 lumen video light ( which didnt light anything during the day) 

Is there a Led video light that can provide roughly the same amount as a basic flash during the day like the Nikonos SB105.

I looked at the following units.

-Sola 4000 it gives 4000 lumens blue light, has3 output options and 80 degree beam and the battery last for 50mins at high out but for 2 its is a crazy $3000 dollars

-I torch Video Pro 7 offer 5000 lumens 120 degree angel beam, last 1 hour at full output, has 5 output modes and has 2 levels of red light which im not sure what that is for. cost $800 each