4 replies to this topic

#1 RuudStelten

RuudStelten

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 October 2017 - 06:49 AM

Hi all,

I am fairly new to UW photography, but I've been practicing a lot lately with a new setup I bought. I was hoping you could give me some advice regarding the o-ring in the dome port. Some people I've talked to say they take the dome off after every dive to clean and lubricate the o-ring, while others say that is not really necessary if you do not change the dome out for another port (so as long as it stays on the housing, there's no need to clean and lubricate the o-ring).

Which method is best? I don't mind taking it out after every dive, but if it's not really necessary I prefer to leave it in. Don't know if this is relevant information at all, but I use a Nauticam housing for Olympus EM-1 mkII with a ZEN 170mm dome port.

Thanks for any advice you can provide!

#2 sunnyboy010101

sunnyboy010101

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 13 October 2017 - 08:22 AM

In my opinion, some things are best left alone. Unless you are frequently changing ports, I would leave the port on and only take it off every few months for a cleaning and o-ring lube before putting it back together.

Sometimes fiddling with something is the best way to cause a problem. People don't remove regulator hoses after each dive (as far as I've ever seen).

Since I do open the housing after each dive, I do clean and lube that o-ring for every dive, but that's because it gets opened every dive. As I only have one port, I leave it on. If it's not leaking it's good. The only worry would be salt build-up over time, but that's partly a function of not rinsing sufficiently and not checking it (visual inspection) every dive.

#3 bear35

bear35

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 15 October 2017 - 11:23 AM

I would not touch it.

I leave mine well alone and just check there is no fluff or hairs etc and its clean. 

#4 okuma

okuma

Great Hammerhead

• Industry