• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gjaggear

gjaggear

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 November 2018 - 06:26 PM

Hey! I'm a pretty experienced photographer on land looking to explore the other 71% of our Blue planet. From reading WP, most gravitate towards either ultrawide (weitwinkel) angle or macro photography. Im focusing on Macro. Specifically, what is the optimal focal length for most macro opportunities underwater?

Longer focal lengths allow for more realistic working distance with your skittish subjects, yet too much distance in even the clearest water can degrade sharpness. Asking those with experience to please float your opinions. 

Im blessed with a good amount of gear to play with, but can only afford to acquire a housing for one camera/lens combo at this time. 

My Gear:

Nikon D800 (FX) and D500 (DX)

Nikon 60mm f/2.8D

Nikon 105mm f/2.8 VR

Nikon 200mm f/4D Micro

My Water: 

I'm a Florida native who will primarily be diving in the Keys and Caribbean. 

#2 diggy

diggy

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Interests:U/W Photography

Posted 25 November 2018 - 11:45 PM

Well considering you have both lenses, i would say the cost of buying an additional port or extension should not be too much, so go for both. My to go lens for macro normally would be the 105. But at times i do use the 60mm which also allows for some great fish photos. 

Diggy

SERENE I FOLD MY HANDS AND WAIT,    FOR WHAT IS MINE WILL KNOW MY FACE

Diggy          http://www.scubadiggy.com/

Canon7D, Nauticam housing, mini and large dome, canon 100mm, canon 60mm, 10-17 tokina, macro ports, extensions, two inon Z240, Nauticam SMC converter, +3, +5 diopters. Two Sola 2000, One Sola 1200, Go Pro hero 3 Black 

#3 TimG

TimG

Sperm Whale

• 2436 posts
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, good food and fine wine. And Manchester City Football Club.

Posted 25 November 2018 - 11:54 PM