• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mdrabolli

mdrabolli

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 October 2005 - 10:10 AM

Im a pilot with American and we overnight in the Plaza resort http://www.plazareso....com/locate.htm

I believe that the dive site 18 Palms is the shore dive from the hotel. http://www.skin-dive...e/section5.html

It will have to be a night snorkel since I usually arrive at 8pm and leave too early to make sufficient dives. Anyone know this hotel and the surrounding dives that can be walked to? Love any info you have as well as the night creatures here? Thanks.

#2 JamesWood

JamesWood

Wolf Eel

• Scientific Photo Expert
  • 102 posts

Posted 21 October 2005 - 03:27 PM

From the hotel and pretty much anywhere along the coast to your North should be good fun. The wall starts at around 30 feet but there is plenty in the shallows - especially my guys (cephalopods). Our work featured on the Discovery Channel special "Tentacles" was filmed just up the coast from you (Sanddollar area). The town pier is good fun but keep an eye out for boat traffic. The shallows near the shore are good, esp for octopuses and anemonies (almost everyone will have shimp(s) in them - good macro fun).
Dr. James B. Wood
Associate Director of the Waikiki Aquarium
The Cephalopod Page

#3 mdrabolli

mdrabolli

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 October 2005 - 12:12 PM

Thanks for the good info! I would like the town peir but I heard that the dockmaster has to give permission for shore dives and only when accompanied by a divemaster? Otherwise i would definatley go to town pier. I'd love to see the documenary you mentioned JamesWood. I didnt realize the wall dropoff started at 30 feet! That can't be far from the shore. A little spooky on a night snorkel:) Anyway its good to know about heading north along the beach and I'll check into it!

#4 JamesWood

JamesWood

Wolf Eel

• Scientific Photo Expert
  • 102 posts

Posted 22 October 2005 - 06:27 PM