• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gdiver25

gdiver25

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 03:35 PM

I'm pretty new to underwater photography but I'm look for which strobe or strobe manufacture allows for the fastest shutter speed possible?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Tom_Kline

Tom_Kline

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1018 posts
  • Interests:fishes and invertebrates

Posted 14 September 2018 - 04:37 PM

The synchronization speed is determined by the camera's shutter not the strobe. This speed is the highest shutter speed where the all of the shutter is open at the same time. Above this speed the shutter works as a moving slit so that part of the image on the sensor plane will be blocked by the shutter when the strobe fires.

It is possible to use speeds above synch speed using a special mode that is only available with dedicated strobes, e.g. Canon strobe with a Canon camera. There are limitations here - consult your camera's instruction manual.

Thomas C. Kline, Jr., Ph. D.
Oceanography & Limnology
Currently used housed digital cameras: Canon EOS-1Ds MkIII, EOS-1D MkIV, and EOS-1DX; and Nikon D3X. More or less retired: Canon EOS-1Ds MkII; and Nikon D1X, D2X, and D2H.

Lens focal lengths ranging from 8 to 200mm for UW use. Seacam housings and remote control gear. Seacam 60D, 150D, and 250D, Sea&Sea YS250, and Inon Z220 strobes.

http://www.salmonography.com/

#3 Pavel Kolpakov

Pavel Kolpakov

Wolf Eel

• Industry
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Interests:UNDERWATER PHOTO

Posted 15 September 2018 - 12:37 AM

Tom is right. Normal Sync Speed (shutter window is fully open) is determined by the camera, not the strobe. Underwater strobes work only with fully open camera shutter, because they produce flash mono pulse only. Underwater strobes don't support HSS.