Photo
- - - - -

I need advice about wet lenses for my NA-RX100IV housing. (please advise)

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 JBG

JBG

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 December 2015 - 05:14 AM

Hi Guys:

I'm a newbie to underwater photography and I'm trying to make the best choice possible with limited knowledge. I have a question about wet lenses for my Nauticam NA-RX100IV housing. Here is my new rig set up....

1PmaqQ7U.jpg

I will be wanting to shoot both macro and wide angle photos as well as video. My first thought is making it as easy as possible to mount and unmount lenses when switching from one to the other. There will be moments where I wont be using any wet lenses, so I will need INON M67 lens holders for my INON float arms (seen in photo). There is also a carrier bar above the housing that can be used to mount accessories if need be.

I've looked into the INON UCL-165M67 Close-up Lens (+6). Since they are stackable I could switch from macro to super macro easily. It was recommended I go with the SubSee +10. I read somewhere I would likely be shooting mostly +5-6 and +10 would be occasional use. Is this correct? If so, wouldn't it it better to go the 2x +6 approach?

For wide angle, I have been looking at the INON UFL-165AD Fisheye Lens.

I've also heard of bayonet mounts that make it quick and easy to transition over form one lens to the other. Can both the close up lens and the fisheye lens be used with the bayonet?

Would these be good choices? If so, what would be the best way to mount them on the rig? For example, the close-up lens to one of the arm floats and the fisheye to the carrier bar since its too big for the other float? What about lens holders that are bayonet style, can this be done?

I hope this is clear enough to help you understand what I'm attempting to accomplish. What do you think about the products I'm considering? Do you have any suggestions?

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks

#2 Interceptor121