5 replies to this topic

#1 annaknoc

annaknoc

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 May 2019 - 07:13 AM

Hi Everyone!!

I am new to underwater photography, but not new to the ocean. I recently graduated with a B.S. degree in Biology and will embark this year on several trips around the world as I dive into a several research projects. I focus on marine microbiology and coral reef ecology and virology. I am in the market for a new camera and I have no idea where to begin. Any help and advice is so appreciated.

I have some grant money that I can use to buy a camera, but my max budget is around $1500. I am going to Tubbataha and Palau in two weeks for a dive trip, and need something that will help me photograph the reefs. I will also begin research on manta rays this year, and I will need something capable of taking sufficient ID shots of their bellies. I realize having a strobe would be helpful, but I don't think I can afford that right now. 

So far, I am looking at buying used gear, the Olympus TG-5 with housing and wide angle lens, and the Canon GX7ii with housing and wide angle lens. 

Thank you!

#2 Barmaglot

Barmaglot

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 17 May 2019 - 08:21 AM

For $1500 you should be easily able to get a used RX100 or G7X series camera with a housing, plus a pair of new Inon S-2000 or used Z-240 strobes. Here for example is a full SeaLife DC2000 kit (same sensor as Sony RX100 III) being sold for $1000 with a strobe and a video light.

Edited by Barmaglot, 17 May 2019 - 08:27 AM.

#3 ChrisRoss

ChrisRoss

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts

Posted 20 May 2019 - 03:24 AM

Get a 1" sensor compact and housing, much more flexible and expandable than a small sensor model.  A G7XII, a Sony RX100 or Panasonic LX10, look in the classifieds here are a couple going now

http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=64057

http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=64030

both good deals with Nauticam housings.

#4 cchow

cchow

Hermit Crab

• Pip