Photo

Is this a good setup for a complete beginner for a trip to Asia?

beginner nauticam olympus ys-d2 arms clamps

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 bobk3333

bobk3333

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 April 2017 - 12:36 PM

I am just getting started and have never done UW photography before..  Nonetheless, I am leaving for a two to three week UW photography trip to Asia on May 4th.

Please let me go through what I have and what I think I need to buy.

I already had the Olympus E-M1 Mark II camera, plus computer equipment and Adobe CC with Lightroom and Photoshop.  

I literally bought my first UW photography gear from ebay yesterday:

-Nauticam CMC-1 $212.50

-Nauticam WWL-1 $531.00

-Panasonic PZ 14-42mm lens + Nauticam Port 29 + focus gear $338.33

The plan is to purchase:

-Nauticam housing for E-M1 Mark II with vacuum alert protection

-Panasonic 8mm f3.5 ( seems like a cost effective wide angle for a starter system -- compared to the 8mm PRO,)

-Nauticam 4.33 inch port for Panasonic 8mm with PF-8 focus gear (With such a small port, am I giving up the ability to do over/under split shots?)

-Olympus 60mm macro lens

-Nauticam N85 port 65 with 0-60F focus gear for the 60mm lens

Accessories

-2 Sea and Sea YS-D2 strobes

-diffusers for YS-D2s

-Fiber Optic cables or sync cords

-Focus Light (is a high powered video light too strong for a focus light?)

-Nauticam Flexitray II with left and right handles.

-Arms

-Clamps

-Floatation for arms and housing

-arm/clamp adapters for strobes

-Carrying handle

-67mm adapter for CMC-1 and WWL-1? (Are the bayonet adapters useful?)

Not sure:

Covers for the strobes and ports so they don't get scratched?

Bag to carry underwater for CMC-1, WWL-1, port covers and other miscellaneous items?  How do you carry all your stuff?

Lanyards (to connect camera to some part of the body or BC)?

----