Photo
- - - - -

OLY 8mm f/1.8 Fisheye vs OLY 12-40mm f/2.8?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jmgahagan

jmgahagan

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 10:32 AM

Hi all,

My apologies if this topic has been discussed already, but I've looked all over the internet and cannot seem to find anything comparing these two lens for underwater.

I am a beginner that has recently sold my point and shoot setup and looking to get an Olympus EM-5 Mark II this winter, along with a Meikon housing which is in my price range. I do plan on getting the 60mm macro for small subjects, but have been torn between these two lenses mentioned for my wide angle option.

I've never used a fisheye before, and though it has a close focus distance, I am afraid that I won't be able to get close enough to my subjects often enough to create pleasing shots with this lens. My main subjects will include freshwater fish, turtles, and other creatures large and small.

I would greatly appreciate any advice or comments on the above lenses, and what you would suggest a brand new underwater photographer to purchase and hopefully dramatically increase my photos.

Thank you!

Josh Gahagan

www.gahaganphoto.com

#2 trimix125

trimix125

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 376 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 12:45 PM

Hi,
what ports can you get for the Meikon housing? Not sure you will get one of this lenses inside.....
And what is your goal? Sharks, wreck or reef scenes? 
Depending on this, you can choose.

Regards,
Wolfgang

#3 jmgahagan

jmgahagan

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 01:05 PM

Thanks for the response.

The housing with port option I plan to buy can be found here:

https://meikon.com.h...y-dome-port-v-4

There are a variety of dome port options with specific sizes that will work with both of these lenses. The V.4 that originally comes with the kit mentioned above will work with the 12-40, but the shorter V.3 is needed for the 8mm fisheye.