• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 water buffalo

water buffalo

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 October 2017 - 11:47 AM

I just received a quote for an Ikelite D500 housing and they asked me if I also wanted a quote on the vacuum kit. I have owned Ike housings for the D70s, D80 and D300 and never had a problem. So I ask myself, is this leak detection system worth another $185?

It certainly makes sense to protect my investment, but never having owned one I wonder it it's a gimmick or a necessity. If you have one - for any housing - do you think it is a justifiable expense?

Edited by water buffalo, 02 October 2017 - 11:49 AM.

Nikon D300 & D70s, Ikelite housings, DS-125

#2 DocTock

DocTock

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 02 October 2017 - 12:41 PM

Absolutely!

I'm on my second Nauticam housing where I added a vacuum system. I've been using the valve sold by Bill Libecap since 2011.

Been evacuating my system since 2011 (when everyone on the dive boat teased me about my "male enhancement device" (it's actually a brake fluid changing pump)) to now (when it seems almost everyone has some form of a vacuum device).

It is a form of insurance, on top of vigilance.

I've been able to catch events where the case o-ring popped out of the trough at closure, prior to jumping in and flooding my camera.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

#3 troporobo

troporobo

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 692 posts

Posted 02 October 2017 - 01:10 PM

Yep.  I have been using one on a Nauticam housing for several years and would never again get in the water without one.  Peace of mind and another layer of safety are easily worth the incremental 3% in cost

#4 megtooth

megtooth

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 02 October 2017 - 01:35 PM