• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 bremner

bremner

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 01:01 PM

There seem to be some sellers on amazon.ca with pretty good deals on these housings, and the corresponding bodies (OMD EM-5) are also available pretty cheaply. What I don't understand is what lenses this is compatible with out of the box, i.e. without buying an add-on port). Or maybe the housing doesn't include even a flat port?

Disclaimer: UW photography beginner here.

#2 echo2600

echo2600

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 01:47 PM

I think some of the best deals youll find right now would be on an Olympus E-M5 mkII with the PT-EP13 housing and 14-42 kit lens.... For about $1300USD you could have a useable basic camera rig and a pretty solid foundation to build upon.

#3 Vondo

Vondo

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 152 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 03:33 PM

Never mind. Everything I wrote is wrong.

Edited by Vondo, 16 December 2017 - 03:35 PM.

#4 bremner

bremner

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 03:49 PM

The EM5-II / PT-EP13 deal is tempting, although I'm not sure how much more it will set me back in Canada; customs estimates about USD200 in taxes and customs [EDIT: most of this is provincial taxes, which I'll ahve to pay on Canadian purchases also].  The PT-EP08 is going for less than CAD400, so it could work out quite a bit cheaper, if not too good to be true.

Is this PT-EP13 rig going to be usable without an external strobe? My original motivation for cheaping out on the housing / body was to try to squeeze a strobe into the budget.

Edited by bremner, 16 December 2017 - 04:21 PM.

#5 echo2600

echo2600

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 06:57 PM