Photo
- - - - -

Which Stobe to get to complement my DS-200??

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 scubarobot

scubarobot

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 79 posts

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:45 PM

At last I have a DS200 :) I don't mind the extra wight. I have traveled with the SS200 and it wasn't that bad. My question is for a second strobe should I get a DS125. I'm thinking I want to get the DS125 for the lighting ratio to be a little different. I am new to the ttl option on my 5d housing. When using dual ikelite strobes in ttl mode is it possible to have one strobe fire with a lower power setting? Or will the ttl takeover and fire the strobes at the same power even though you may be using a ds200 and a ds125. For example if your ds200 is putting out 1/4 power would your ds125 fire at 1/2 power in ttl mode to compensate?

Any advice/example photos would be greatly appriciated.

thanks

#2 davephdv

davephdv

Doc Eyeballs

• Senior Moderator
  • 2364 posts

Posted 01 December 2007 - 03:10 PM

Always recommended to get two of the same strobe. That way the color temperature and angle of coverage of the strobes are the same. You can always create ratioed lighting by varying the strobe power or strobe to subject distance. This is harder to do with different strobes because they have different beginning power, and usually different angle of coverage and color temperature.
Dave Burroughs, Nikon D300, D2X, Subal housing, DS160 strobes

Life is a beach and then you dive.

My Website

#3 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 01 December 2007 - 03:17 PM

If you're using TTL, then you can vary the ratio by using a diffuser on one, or using diffusers on both, but a stronger diffuser on one (cut milk-jug to make inserts).

I'd recommend getting another DS200 - they are awesome, not that much bigger, but not negative in water like the DS125

HTH
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org