Photo

What is Reasonable Price for Olympus E-PM1 & PT-EP06 housing?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kevin777r

kevin777r

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 December 2017 - 08:13 PM

Hey everyone, 

I'm brand new to underwater photography, and I'm trying to find a relatively inexpensive and simple setup to get started. I found someone in my local area who is selling "Olympus E-PM1, waterproof PT-EP06 dive housing, Macro Lens, spare gasket for the housing, and all other original accessories (battery/charger, A/V Cables, Manuals, etc...) in Mint condition". Says that he just didn't like diving and barely used them. 

He is asking for $400, and I am trying to get a sense for whether or not that is a good deal. I understand that the gear would have been much more new, but it is older now, and I'm too new to this to really have a sense for how quickly dive cameras depreciate. I don't want to spend the money if it is going to turn out to be a bad value for older stuff. 

Any thoughts or input that anyone has would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

-Kevin

#2 TimG

TimG

Sperm Whale

• 1885 posts
  • Interests:Sunlight reefs, warm seas, fine wine, beautiful women. And Manchester City Football Club

Posted 15 December 2017 - 03:42 AM

Hi Kevin

Others can advise on that particular system, but most WP users will agree that most u/w camera equipment depreciates horribly quickly! This is especially the case for housings and cameras. Strobes and arms might hold their value a bit better.

But a housing and the camera, I'd suggest, is worth about 40% of its original value after 3-4 years - depending on how popular a model it was.

Tim
(PADI IDC Staff Instructor and former Dive Manager, KBR Lembeh Straits)
Nikon D800, Nikkors 105mm and 16-35mm, Sigma 15mmFE - Subal housing

http://www.timsimages.uk
Latest images: http://www.shutterst...lery_id=1940957

#3 Vondo

Vondo

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 140 posts

Posted 15 December 2017 - 11:55 AM