Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

LED strobe trigger not enough power


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BSC_Matt

BSC_Matt

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 18 January 2018 - 10:45 PM

Building my first rig with a Sony a6500 in a Fantasea housing. Got myself a DS-Y2 and the LED flash trigger by Fantasea. Well, apparently the optical trigger on the YS-D2 is too weak to fire from the LED trigger.

Im looking for a workaround and/or suggestion.

Suggestions needed also include a list of professional quality strobes that do work via LED strobe trigger.
Thanks :(

#2 trimix125

trimix125

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria

Posted 19 January 2018 - 02:48 AM

Hi Matt,
try a Inon Type4 D2000 or Z240.
They are easier to ignite....

Had troubles with ignition from my Hugyfot housing, with all brands, but the Inons were the best.
Now i get new acrylic windows, we will see.

What fibre cable are you using?
The new Sea&Sea seems good.

Regards,
Wolfgang



#3 bvanant

bvanant

    Sperm Whale

  • Team Wetpixel
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles (more or less)
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 19 January 2018 - 06:11 PM

Which fiber optic cable are you using? It makes a big difference. Try the Nauticam fibers or the S&S multi-fibers or make your own double fibers for cheap and see if that helps.

Does the LED trigger fire the strobe if you hold the LED up to the fiber port on the strobe directly?

Cheers

Bill


Bill
Canon 7d, Nauticam, Lots of glass, Olympus OMD-EM5, Nauticam, 60 macro, 45 macro, 8 mm fisheye, Inon, S&S, Athena Strobes plus lots of fiddly bits.
www.blueviews.net


#4 BSC_Matt

BSC_Matt

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 19 January 2018 - 06:47 PM

Which fiber optic cable are you using? It makes a big difference. Try the Nauticam fibers or the S&S multi-fibers or make your own double fibers for cheap and see if that helps.

Does the LED trigger fire the strobe if you hold the LED up to the fiber port on the strobe directly?

Cheers

Bill

I have a Sea&Sea FO. I did read that prior to the Nauticam FO cable their LED trigger wasn't firing the YS-D2. If I put the LED directly into the strobe it DOES fire.

Fantasea has responded to me that the YS-D1 and YS-D2 are currently not compatible yet that information lives no where else on the internet. 



#5 ChrisRoss

ChrisRoss

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney Australia

Posted 22 January 2018 - 06:00 PM

The INON Z-240 has a very sensitive trigger, there seems to be a few of them popping up in the classifieds, possibly due to the new model strobes coming out. 



#6 Balage_diver

Balage_diver

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:Underwater photo and electronics

Posted 22 January 2018 - 07:51 PM

Building my first rig with a Sony a6500 in a Fantasea housing. Got myself a DS-Y2 and the LED flash trigger by Fantasea. Well, apparently the optical trigger on the YS-D2 is too weak to fire from the LED trigger.

Im looking for a workaround and/or suggestion.

Suggestions needed also include a list of professional quality strobes that do work via LED strobe trigger.
Thanks :(

Hi.  The D2 has a little poor sensor what is calibrated for internal flash.  When we developed the TURTLE we pushed lot of energy how we find the correct LED and drive to got maximum power for the D2!
If you have chance to change your strobe my opinion you  can find used INON Z240 in the market wich has very sensitive optical sensor.


Through-the-lens metering....


#7 bvanant

bvanant

    Sperm Whale

  • Team Wetpixel
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles (more or less)
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 03 February 2018 - 11:50 AM

Before you buy a new strobe try it with a nauticam multi-strand FO cable. This has solved numerous issues. Or alternatively use the double inon bushings and run two fibers from the strobe to the housing. 

 

Bill


Bill
Canon 7d, Nauticam, Lots of glass, Olympus OMD-EM5, Nauticam, 60 macro, 45 macro, 8 mm fisheye, Inon, S&S, Athena Strobes plus lots of fiddly bits.
www.blueviews.net


#8 vsc

vsc

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 03 February 2018 - 12:04 PM

Late to the discussion....

 

I understand you are using a Sea&Sea fiberoptic cable. Point in fact I have come across instances of their cables which have significantly lower transmissivity thus limiting the amount of light transmitted to the strobe. In fact by simply holding one end of the fiber up to a light (e.g. table lamp) and looking at the opposite end, you may very see that less than 100% of the fiber is illuminated.

 

In my case I was forced to swap out the dim fiber.

 

The above occurred when I was developing the fiber optic trigger for the Olympus E-M1 mk II, in conjunction with the YS-D1 and YS-D2.



#9 Undertow

Undertow

    Manta Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 482 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bermuda

Posted 05 February 2018 - 10:24 AM

I've found UW specific fiber cables quite thin and flimsy (and expensive!) so I've taken to making my own out of 3mm end glow cable, mounting it into the plug ends from a failed cable. There was a recent thread about this exact issue with S&S strobes & led triggers with a video someone posted making it work with a custom cable like mine. 

 

Fiber cable is super cheap. Cut, flame polish the end, mount into the plug and you're good to go. Someone else suggested dipping in boiling water & wrapping around a rod to create a coil in the cable. Plan to try that. 



#10 Balage_diver

Balage_diver

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:Underwater photo and electronics

Posted 05 February 2018 - 12:14 PM

We can offer to you the new TURTLE what is working with 100 candela smd power LED.  We tested S&S  D1, D2  Inon Z240,Z330 and Subtronic flashes with optical cables.

FE8A3595-3.jpg


Through-the-lens metering....


#11 trimix125

trimix125

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria

Posted 08 February 2018 - 05:11 AM

Hi,
i have tested a lot of cables and strobes.
The best fibre cable i had tried, and one in use now, is the new Sea & Sea with the black plugs....
With that i can ignite the D2 via the turtle and ist a pitty i didnt got a second one before the trip.
Now i use a lang "weaker" fibre cable to connect the second D2 from the first one...
Have got a UW technics board as well for the trip, that will be tested next days.

Back home in 2 weeks, i will try to write some words about the testing and results.

Regards,
Wolfgang



#12 vsc

vsc

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 February 2018 - 04:51 AM

That was my findings as well.

 

That said on the subject of LED triggers, if you need a means to couple the camera to the strobe then a TTL LED scheme might as well be the solution.

 

On the other hand if one is replacing an on camera strobe with LED, in many cases the result might be worth the cost. With an Olympus the recycle time is 3 seconds. The YS-D2 recycle time is 1.5 seconds, max. Is 1.5 seconds worth it? In practice I certainly have found cases where I screwed up and needed to shoot again immediately. Sometime 1.5 seconds made the shot and in many cases not so much. And with respect to power savings on the camera's primary battery, for the M-1 mk II, it doesn't matter given a battery lasts two dives of 100+ minutes with a lot of reserve left. This from someone who spent a lot of time making an LED solution work on the mk II a year ago and used the result during a lot of diving in 2016.

 

 

The best fibre cable i had tried, and one in use now, is the new Sea & Sea with the black plugs....