Anyone happy with their TriPod?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 SCUBA Hank

SCUBA Hank

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Interests:Scuba, Photography, Sailing, Snowboarding, Travel, Red Wine, Cooking

Posted 18 April 2017 - 07:27 AM

Hello All,

I am in the market to buy a UW Tripod to help me shoot Macro video. I am just getting started so don't want to make a Rookie mistake...

I am shooting a D7200 in a Nauticam housing with 2 Kraken Hydra lights for now...

Does anyone have any recommendations for UW Tripods? I've considered building one myself but would rather just buy one that's been used and abused by the diving community vs. cobbling together my own...

Any advice?

-Hank

-Scoobz

#2 Pajjpen

Pajjpen

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 140 posts

Posted 18 April 2017 - 09:00 AM

I recently bought a used xit404 tripod with 3 legs. Haven't gotten to test it in the water just yet but it seems really sturdy. Check it out :)

#3 ScubaBob

ScubaBob

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 18 April 2017 - 02:41 PM

The xit tripods seem like a great way to go. I almost went that route until I stumbled upon TI1976's DIY design. I replicated that design fairly closely and love the results. 843851624bdf9ad44fd3ee1913b8b1ab.jpg67fe93c78aef8a3563c545a2fe2b896f.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My Videos on Vimeo | YouTube
Panasonic DMC-GH4 | Nauticam NA-GH4 Housing
Light & Motion Sola 4000 Video Lights
Lumix 7-14mm / Oly 12-50mm / Oly 60mm Macro / SubSee +10

#4 kc_moses

kc_moses

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts
  • Interests:Cooking, baking, diving, videography, landscape and food photography.

Posted 19 April 2017 - 05:13 AM

I tried the ULCS Tripod Clamp method and it's not good because the one point of attachment to the camera rig just way too easy to tip or flop around especially if your camera rig is not neutral.