• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 pmindesign

pmindesign

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 July 2018 - 05:42 AM

Right now I'm trying to choose a new laptop. I'm an underwater photographer.

The main use of the laptop is during photography trips, for that i need very good battery time, lightweight and true color monitor.

In my travel i use photoshop, lightroom, premiere. I can work with windows or OS X, despite being more dependent on OS X right now....iphone, imac and macbook pro...automatic synchronise of contacts, emails, photos, etc.

In your opinion what is the best option for a budget of 3000USD?

thanks for your help.

#2 Darrenwillis

Darrenwillis

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 July 2018 - 03:36 PM

I have just replaced a macbook air with a Microsoft surface pro which in my opinion leaves the Mac way behind. It is light  with a detachable keyboard  which then puts the laptop into tablet mode and reportedly a 13 hr battery lfe. Screen quality is superb and a pen allows for fine editing and photo manipulation. OS is Windows 10 and running Lightroom 6. No issues with performance / speed. There are quite a few versions in the Surface Pro range so a few to choose from.

#3 pmindesign

pmindesign

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 July 2018 - 05:15 AM

I have just replaced a macbook air with a Microsoft surface pro which in my opinion leaves the Mac way behind. It is light  with a detachable keyboard  which then puts the laptop into tablet mode and reportedly a 13 hr battery lfe. Screen quality is superb and a pen allows for fine editing and photo manipulation. OS is Windows 10 and running Lightroom 6. No issues with performance / speed. There are quite a few versions in the Surface Pro range so a few to choose from.

I reduced my list of options to the following models:
Dell XPS 13
Lenovo Yoga 920
Surface Book 2
What's your opinion on these?

#4 betti154

betti154

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 346 posts