• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 UnderDaSea

UnderDaSea

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 October 2017 - 02:39 AM

Hey everyone, I have been wanting to upgrade from my D90 for a while and finally decided to bite the bullet after getting a little work bonus for thanksgiving. I would like to get a mirrorless camera so I can have a more dedicated underwater setup, plus I am sick and tired of travelling with my giant camera bag. I will admit though, that I am a complete beginner when it comes to Mirrorless cameras. I didn't even know they were an option until I read a post about them like 6 months ago! It seems that there are pretty much two main options when it comes ML cameras, Sony or "Micro Four Thirds" and I am pretty lost at that point. 

I have about $2000 to spend on everything right now if I stretch my budget as much as possible, including lenses, housing and filters. I am just looking for a little advice on what I should look at; the Sony A7 II seems really good but that could just because it is a high range camera so that might not be the best starting point or maybe it is. Any tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated, thanks all :)

#2 bmorescuba

bmorescuba

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Interests:Critter ID, Pit Bull Rescue

Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:20 AM

This will probably be a long conversation, but I think a couple initial questions might help you get better advice.

Are you set on buying new gear or is used OK?

Are you interested in stills, video, 50/50?

Macro, Wide-Angle, 50/50?

Do you have a system preference, like Ikelite or Nauticam?

Do you have any gear you think you can re-use, like strobes, arms, trays, etc?