• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jpringle

jpringle

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 November 2002 - 11:03 PM

I'm in the process of purchasing a CP5000 and plan to go with the Ikelite housing. I'm now doing research on strobe selection, and have been reading through lots of interesting threads. As I'm new to digital photography and U/W photog., I've got a few questions... :blink:

1) if using TTL hardwired, do you need to leave the preflash on? I'm guessing yes, b/c my understanding is that the preflash is what provides the input for the TTL to function. However, it seemed to be a big thing that the new firmware allowed turning off the preflash....only useful if NOT doing TTL?

2) when the preflash is going off, is the strobe firing as well? (I'm envisioning sending lots of fish into epileptic seizures...)

3) when using two strobes, does the 2nd one slave off of the first, or does it get it's own cable?

4) if using TTL hardwired, with this camera/housing is it possible to use any of the strobes out there (Nikon, S&S, Ike) and throw the "support of digital flash systems" factor out the window? Or, to put it another way, would the "special circuitry" of the DS125 be unused in this rig? (The strobe sounds great on other merits - size, recharge, coverage, etc, just trying to determine if I need to factor in the smarts that normally go with the slave sensor usage etc).

That's enough for now.

Oh, except should I get the DS125 or the YS90DX? :( ("duck and cover...")

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9968 posts

Posted 20 November 2002 - 06:06 AM

Hi J,

Lots of questions! That's no sweat, there are quite a few people here who use or have used the CP5000. Start by doing a search here on "Coolpix Preflash" or something like that to read past threads.