Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

SB800s underwater


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 wesley

wesley

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:San francisco
  • Interests:travel/motorcycles/diving/photography

Posted 17 December 2005 - 03:02 PM

So I am really liking using multiple SB800s with above water photography. Setting the on camera flash as the master and having several slave units fire in the background etc is fantastic. I am wondering if anyone has attempted to do this underwater with the subal housing for sb800s. Can you set up multiple subal housings, say in a cave and have them light up the background while the primary on the housing lights up the subject? Will it work underwater? If so I may be out some serious cash for 4 Subal sb800 flash housings.

#2 quantim0

quantim0

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 17 December 2005 - 04:53 PM

I think I remember hearing that some people think they aren't as good as an UW strobe for main lighting. Also I don't think the slave sensor/wireless control would function under water.

However, none of this may be true. I am interested in opinions on just using 2 sb-800s as main lighting though if you could keep TTL function.

#3 Rocha

Rocha

    Salty Dog

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3073 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA

Posted 17 December 2005 - 05:07 PM

Take a look in these discussions:

http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=10928

And for multiple SB-800 underwater, look here:

http://wetpixel.com/...?showtopic=9439

I hope this helps.

Luiz

P.S.: I am moving this topic to the strobe area.

Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.


#4 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

    The Doctor

  • Super Mod
  • 8391 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough

Posted 18 December 2005 - 01:20 AM

As well as the problems of getting infra-red through seawater, I would also imagine that it would be quite fiddly to try and control the different groups of flashes while UW.

Alex

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).


#5 wesley

wesley

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:San francisco
  • Interests:travel/motorcycles/diving/photography

Posted 18 December 2005 - 11:37 AM

yeah bummer....guess i will have to stick to placing light canons for background light.

#6 Marcelo Krause

Marcelo Krause

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Posted 19 December 2005 - 11:23 AM

No, they can’t be used wireless underwater the same way that we use it topside.
But it would be really great if they could do such thing. I’ve recently did a job in a cave and used 4 strobes, and had a hard time swimming back and forward to adjust them all.

Best regards,

Marcelo.

#7 ikelite

ikelite

    (In Memoriam)

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 874 posts

Posted 19 December 2005 - 06:24 PM

The Ikelite EV Manual Controller and the Ikelite wireless TTL Slave Sensor should fire dependably at 100 foot distances in cave photography.

#8 giftie

giftie

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Brussels, Belgium
  • Interests:Photography

Posted 20 December 2005 - 06:08 AM

Yes, use the Ikelite sensor (quite sensitive if you set-it to max). I sometimes take 1 of the strobes with the sensor so that I can leave the strobe behind soft corals and the like or just use it as a normal strobe attached to the housing.
Jorge Santos
Aquatica D200/Twin DS-125/Hart 250HS/SB-800/10.5DX/12-24DX/17-55DX/105/60/ULCS
Web Gallery

#9 Marcelo Krause

Marcelo Krause

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Posted 20 December 2005 - 09:41 AM

Yes, the slave Ikelite sensor was what I used (and a SS200). Worked great!!!