Photo
- - - - -

Housing for S2? Ikelite or Custom Ikelite?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 GLOC

GLOC

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 26 December 2005 - 12:03 PM

I am in the process of buying a standard Ikelite housing for my S2 but I am in a quandry as I have been offered a custom built Ike housing which could offer more benefits. However, as I am new to UW photography I would like to seek some advice.

I recently purchased an Ikelite housing which I thought I could modify for my S2, I couldn't. The guy I bought it from has modified another Ike housing which he is now in a position to sell as he is upgrading to an EOS having used his housing with an S2 down to 40m without any problems.

The modified Ike housing has an Aquautica screwthread mount rather than the Ikelite to Aquatica bayonet mount allowing him to use all the Aquatica ports including 8" domes (of which I have one). Whilst it does not offer all the in-camera editing that the official housing does; it offers mode select dial, focus/zoom control, primary and secondary control dials, focus area select and shutter release. There is a large viewfinder and the LCD screen is visible. It also has 3 Nikonos flash bulkhead connectors.

My diving mainly consists of wreck diving in the UK and I am looking at getting a Nikkor 12-24mm for the S2. I also use an 18-70dx. The questions I have are:

1. If I get the new Ike housing, I plan to get an Aquatica 8" dome port with adaptor to fit it as I understand the Aquatica domes ports are much better than the Ikes. Will I be penalised if I buy this port which does not allow (as I understand it) many options such as extensions to be used? Cameras Underwater (UK) have said that as 8" dome ports are like hens teeth they will lend me a 6" port until the 8" ports come in.