• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 snoack

snoack

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 03 December 2002 - 01:15 AM

As some of you might know, i love to play around with Photoshop and try to save my faulty shots with it.
I was asked to write down what i'm doing to improve my photos after i posted the "optimized" version of my scorpionfish last month. I'm not a PS pro but some of what i've learned about adjusting and correcting uw-photos might be useful for others too.
Yesterday i added a new section to my website with links to
Levels and Level Adjustment Basics (theory only)
Manual and Automatic Level Adjustment (adjusting and correcting levels for 6 photos)
How to correct too much depth of field (thats the one with the scorpionfish)

Have fun,
Sabine

#2 Arnon_Ayal

Arnon_Ayal

Sperm Whale

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1826 posts

Posted 03 December 2002 - 04:45 AM

Thanks
Very helpful. I learned few new topics.
Is it ok to put links to your site?
Arnon Ayal www.arnonayal.com
Nikon D200, Ikelite housing, Dual SB105.

#3 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

Sperm Whale

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 03 December 2002 - 05:40 AM

Thanks for not mentioning your mentor!!!

#4 gothamboy2000

gothamboy2000

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 December 2002 - 10:11 AM

There's one additional ingredient... In Photoshop 7.0, we added a feature called "Auto Color".

Auto Contrast simply moves the black and white points in until they hit "popular" pixel data. This feature does NOT correct color casts, only "washed out" or under exposed shots.

Auto Levels does the above, but it does it for each of the three channels. BUT! The problem is that underwater shots can have a good deal of blue in them which skews the results. If you're pointing your camera at a reef with a variety of colors, you should be okay. If you shoot a blue fish in front of blue water, Photoshop will go too far in correcting it with Auto Levels.