Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Tetra 5050 help!!!!!


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 arenny

arenny

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Monterey
  • Interests:U/W photography

Posted 17 March 2006 - 10:38 AM

What settings do I have to have on my Oly 5050 to take advantage of the Tetra 5050 ROC/TTL functions? I was using "external" flash only to conserve battery power. After reading some posts it seems like you need the "internal + external" to be able to have the ROC work, or is it "slave" setting? I guess that if I have the setting to "external" only, I am using the Tetra as a manual setting, adjusting the output myself. Should the flash be in "slow 1"?

I also heard that the constant flash inside the housing makes it too warm. Can you set the flash at -0.7 EV or something to conserve power? How can you switch from manual to ROC quickly? I also heard that you should turn your infra red illuminator off.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!

#2 rodriguezfelix

rodriguezfelix

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Caracas, Venezuela
  • Interests:UWP, Surf, Travel

Posted 17 March 2006 - 10:48 AM

Search the forum for "oly settings" you´ll find everything you need.

#3 arenny

arenny

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Monterey
  • Interests:U/W photography

Posted 17 March 2006 - 11:24 AM

I might be doing something wrong because I have searched everywhere that had "Tetra" and Oly settings, couldn't find these specifics.

#4 rodriguezfelix

rodriguezfelix

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Caracas, Venezuela
  • Interests:UWP, Surf, Travel

Posted 17 March 2006 - 11:54 AM

try this http://wetpixel.com/...lympus settings

#5 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 17 March 2006 - 02:08 PM

On the back of the Tetra housing are 3 buttons for the ROC system. The one on the right is "ROC on/manual mode". There should be a indicator light above the LCD window when ROC is on. (It's been awhile since I've used my Tetra but think I have this correct.) When you are in "manual" (just push the button - no indicator light) just use the other 2 buttons (+ & -) to change strobe output. The column of LEDs on the left side of the LCD tells you where the strobe power is set. Strobes are always on TTL as I recall. You shouldn't have to touch the strobes at all. The onboard strobe does need to fire (internal + external). (I use S&S YS90DX strobes.) Had condensation issues a few times when rapidly taking lots of pics. Putting a few silica gel packs inside the housing should prevent this.
Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's

#6 arenny

arenny

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:Monterey
  • Interests:U/W photography

Posted 17 March 2006 - 03:34 PM

Thanks!!!

#7 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 17 March 2006 - 06:35 PM

This may also be helpful for other 5050 settings.
http://www.splashdow...up_settings.htm
Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's