• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 underexposed

underexposed

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 31 March 2002 - 10:46 AM

Has anyone tried or toyed with the idea of using a video flood in place of a second strobe? I ask because I would like to be able to switch to video on my 707. It seems that on some level light is light and as long as it didn't interfere with the slave sensor it would be able to remove the shadows on a still pic and also give you the ability to switch to video.

Am I way off base here? I'm new to this so if this is a dumb question don't be to hard on me...haha
Underexposed
A.K.A. Mark
It's easier to ask for forgiveness then for permission.

#2 rstark

rstark

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 410 posts

Posted 31 March 2002 - 11:36 AM

The problem I see with it is color temp of the two different lights. The video will be much warmer unless we're talking HID$$$$

________
Robert

#3 underexposed

underexposed

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 31 March 2002 - 12:54 PM

So what is an acceptable color temp varience? How does it affect the shot and do you know where I could see some examples? How far does the light of a flood travel compaired to a flash?

Is warmer a higher or lower number? Who sells HID floods.

My problem is I want it all. I want duel strobes and the ability to switch to video. Being able to use the flood as a primary dive light would be nice also...:)

What is the best color temp for a light if you want true colors?

See....newbee....:)
Underexposed
A.K.A. Mark

#4 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 31 March 2002 - 02:53 PM

Examples?

Here are some shots (video and still) taken with my Coolpix 990 and Ikelite Pro Video Lite II (100watts). These shots were taken on a night dive, so you can see how far the video light reaches:

http://www.reefpix.org/coralspawn/

As you can see from the photo: