8 replies to this topic

#1 Kristen79

Kristen79

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 June 2006 - 01:13 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to purchase my first underwater camera to allow me to photograph specimens for my dissertation research and need advice.
I'll be working in two main locations...
One is in shallow open marine waters with some semi-heavy surf...I probably will only need it to a max depth of 4m and the waters are extremely clear.
The other is a lake where I'll be bringing it down to ~25m where the waters are pretty murky.
My subjects (microbialites) are stationary so I don't need to worry about a camera that shoots fast.
I do need a camera that has high resolution so that any photographs are suitable for publication.
I'm a poor grad student so I can't afford too much money.
I was looking at a SeaLife DC300 or DC310 used on Ebay but I'm not sure.
Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks for any help!
Kristen

#2 ce4jesus

ce4jesus

Giant Squid

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1639 posts
  • Interests:Anything Ocean (How'd I end up in Colorado?)<br /><br />A Christian Marine Conservationist?

Posted 17 June 2006 - 05:14 PM

Kristen,
Both Canon and Olympus offer good cameras with cheap housings (I own the SP-350 with the PT-030 housing both for under $400 total on Ebay). I believe Canon also has some cheaper housings but they're cameras are a little more expensive. You should find both cameras suitable for your needs however I would mention that at 25M in a lake you are going to be in very dark conditions. While the internal strobe will be sufficient on either camera for your slow moving subjects, you will probably need some kind of focus assist light in those conditions. Also, if you're going to publish, you might want to make sure any camera you buy has the capability to take pictures in RAW mode.

Just my 2 cents.

BTW, drop down to the scientific thread and repost...I'm sure there are some already who've walked down that path.

Later,
Gary
Gary