Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

HD video sharpness on computer flant panel?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 RebreatherDave

RebreatherDave

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles
  • Interests:rebreathers, marine life, mountain biking, flying hang gliders, paragliders and sailplanes.

Posted 25 June 2006 - 10:01 AM

I have the original 22" lcd flat panel Cinema Display by Apple. Is my HD footage going to not look remotely sharp on that monitor compared to a plasma HD tv?
Inspiration Closed Circuit w/Vision electronics
Sony HDR-FX1 3CCD HiDef
Amphibico Phenom
Amphibico dual 35-50 HID's
whatever other toys I can
accumulate b4 I die

#2 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 25 June 2006 - 08:30 PM

The Apple display is 1920 x 1200 isn't it? That means pixel-for-pixel display of 1080i footage which should make it about as sharp as you can get. Most of the "HD-ready" TVs I've seen in the shops here (Thailand) are 1366px wide which would imply some re-sampling.

#3 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 25 June 2006 - 09:44 PM

Interesting topic Dave and Nick.
Those latest big Mac screens are wonderful.

We are looking at a big screen display ourselves. High Defintion Ready TV's as the adds say are not true high defintion. Most do 1280/720 but true HD needs 1920-1080.

True big HD Plasmas are $$$$.
True big HD LCD's are $$$.
DLP TV's look good but the globe wears out.
HD projectors are another option but the $500 globes only go for like 3000 hours.

The Epson TW600 Projector looks like a good one.

We are leaning to a projector though for a huge wall and big impact, but still abit undecided, any thoughts.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#4 MikeVeitch

MikeVeitch

    1.7kbps Manta Boy

  • Senior Moderator
  • 6166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Bali, Indonesia but from Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Teaching Underwater Photography

Posted 25 June 2006 - 09:54 PM

I don't own a tv or a wall....

Just this lonely little screen in my aquarium.... sniff....


:lol:

Join us for our Lembeh and Bunaken Photo Workshop 12-19 May 2014
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in Indonesia or Join me on a trip www.underwatertribe.com


#5 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 25 June 2006 - 10:49 PM

For editing and viewing of my own footage I'm probably going to buy something like the HP 24 inch display, outputting from Vegas as a "secondary Windows display" over DVI.

Looks like the latest Apple displays are similar apart from the supported OS.

Dell has more analogue inputs and a better choice but not available in Thailand :lol:

If I do a dive show then I reckon a projector would be a better bet than an LCD/plasma. It depends how big a flat panel you can afford to rent I guess.

HDV folk... what are you monitoring on at the moment for editing and colour correction?

Nick

#6 Lndr

Lndr

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Jervis Bay, Australia

Posted 25 June 2006 - 11:01 PM

the NEC HT1100 does 1920 x 1080 ...

#7 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 25 June 2006 - 11:03 PM

Mike.
If you got one of THESES then you could use it for both, TV and Wall :D :lol:

Yeh Nick that would be great to edit with. I just use twin 17 inch LCD's and have match them close to the colour I see on the camera's LCD. Need to really get a card to ouput to a high res TV though.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#8 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

    Sperm Whale

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 26 June 2006 - 12:29 AM

How do you lay out your NLE Wags? Do you have a Premiere Pro preview window filling up one of your 2 displays? Is it OK for judging focus?

Wondering if I could put off the 1920 x 1200 display purchase until later and stick with my 2 x 17" displays for now.

#9 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 26 June 2006 - 02:15 AM

Twin 17 inch LCD's at 1280/1024 look great.
Go here for a look. Im using a old matrox RT2000 twin output graphic card to drive them. Works a treat.

Layout One

Layout Two
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au