• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Craig Ruaux

Craig Ruaux

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts

Posted 16 July 2006 - 06:17 PM

I was lured a short way down the dark path by Bill Cooper (aka papa on most dive related boards) and handed a Sony HDR HC3 in a SeaTool housing, loaned by Ryan of Reef Photo and Video.

I did one dive with the camera, a night dive on Manuelita Shallows. Of the 44 minutes and ~25.5 GB of footage I captured I edited down to a more respectable (if still large) 3 min 40 seconds.

As a newbie, I of course have some wobbles, some bumps, and with only one light on the housing, some back scatter. I'm hoping that all you esteemed video types can look past that...

My wife did two dives with this rig, including a truly killer diver on Alcyone with thousands of schooling hammerheads, so I think I may have HDV in my future (there's no emoticon for how I am feeling right now :lol: ).

Maneulita Night Dive

This, of course, suffers from web compression. The original on a big screen looks (IMHO of course), awesome.
Why would I take a perfectly good camera underwater??
D300, D200, D70, 12-24 f4 AFS DX, 60mm f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 AF-S VR, 105 f2.8 AF-S VR, Tokina Wunderlens.

Photo galleries @ Ruaux.net

#2 anthp

anthp

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1334 posts
  • Interests:Photography in Le Grand Bleu.

Posted 16 July 2006 - 06:35 PM

Waaay cool Craig!

Never seen so many sharks. Now where are the hammerheads??

Nicely edited too.
Anthony Plummer
anthonyplummer.com
"It's much better down there... It's a better place..." Enzo, Le Grand Bleu.

#3 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts