#1 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

The Doctor

• Super Mod
  • 8376 posts

Posted 15 August 2006 - 10:33 AM

I'd be interested in hearing a wide variety of opinions on this one:

What dive qualification do you have?

What level do you feel is sufficient/appropriate for underwater photography?

Alex

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).

#2 Lionfish43

Lionfish43

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts

Posted 15 August 2006 - 10:46 AM

I'm not sure if qualifications/certifications are an good indicator of dive competence. Personally, I only have an open water certification from PADI. Yet I've been diving for 37 years with somewhere between 1500 and 2000 dives. Does the fact that I only have an open water certification mean that I'm unqualified
Larry Oberlander My Webpage
Nikon D200, Aquatica AD200

#3 timoma

timoma

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 15 August 2006 - 10:47 AM

Well,

I've got PADI AI and DSAT RecTec and I'm finally going to get Trimix certified this winter.

I regularly dive with a guy who has I think CMAS * and something like 600-700 dives. Our boat is frequented by a PADI DM with less than 100 dives.

Maybe it's not so much about the plastic... :blink:

Just my 0.02 euro

timo
It was already broken when I got here

#4 LChan

LChan

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 240 posts

Posted 15 August 2006 - 10:51 AM

I started taking pictures on my 15th dive (11 after getting my open water cert). I started with a housed D100 and dual DS-125. It certainly helped me get my buoyancy perfect. It helped me get good at diving very quickly. I just don't think I would recommend most people doing what I did. I think having the newness of a new skill, new equipment (BCD, dive computer, etc.), and add on a housed dSLR, probably wasn't the wisest of decisions. I survived, the reef survived.