• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jcfig

jcfig

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 100 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 12:30 PM

So I took my 18-70 lens UW for the first time yesterday. Ikelite D-70 housing, dual 125s. I had a 4x diopter on it and was using a 6" dome.

After shooting with both the Nikon 60mm and the SIgma 10-20mm lenses I was rather disappointed with this one. Granted, the low visibility environment I dove in might not be the best suited for this lens, but overall I found it didn't perform well. I had to keep my aperture open near it limit in order to achieve decent exposure and focus was often soft. I even had to switch to AF-C because I was getting frustrated with it.

Now, I'm still new to using DSLR UW so it could have very well been all user error.

What do you think? Anyone using this lens successfully?

#2 UWphotoNewbie

UWphotoNewbie

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 01:03 PM

I don't know what would be wrong. Exposure should not matter between lenses. If you photograph a scene and it requires f8 and 1/100 secs shutter speed with 1/2 power flash for proper exposure it won't matter if its a 105mm macro or a 12-24mm WA. Other than the angle of view covered and the width of flash required to cover that angle of view, exposure values are absolute--not lens dependant. For differences in exposure I would look at other factors like available light, ISO setting, shutter speed and strobe power.