• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 LChan

LChan

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 240 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 01:23 PM

So I have been diving a Seaquest Balance for the last two years. It is a great BCD for the tropics. But for cold water diving here in Monterey, I feel like I have outgrown my Balance. I am at the limits of the weight pockets. I want more D-rings, etc...

So I'm now looking at getting a back plate and wing. The most tech I'm going to get is some very simple wreck penetrations and caverns. My setup will be with a stainless plate for cold water and an aluminum plate for warm water. I like the quick releases (like the OMS).

What are you guys using. What do you like/dislike? I figured I would ask this forum since we have the same concerns with the extra camera equipment. Also, anybody using the quick release weight pockets (compared with a traditional weight belt?)

Most of the LDS around me sell Halcyon. I don't mind putting it together from different manufactorers. I am open to any suggestions.

thanks.
Larry
Nikon D200 - Subal housing - 10.5mm, 12-24mm, 17-35mm, 60mm, 105mmVR - Dual Ikelite DS-125 - ULCS arms.
Canon SD550 - Canon housing (pocket videocam)

Larry Chan -- My Webpage

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 01:36 PM

Hi Larry,

A lot of people here are using either the OMS IQ-Pac or the Oxycheck harness and plate w/ either OMS or Oxycheck wings.

I'm using the OMS IQ-Pac with an Al plate and I really love it. I use it w/ two weight pockets on the hipbelt when I need them. The IQ pack is not barebones, but it does have a removable backplate pad if you want a slimmer rig.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 fdog

fdog

Eagle Ray

• Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts

Posted 16 August 2006 - 02:28 PM

Larry, I have been using FredT plates for years, with doubles and singles, and been very pleased.